Languid


autumn-moments

{Octoberfest is my blog event in which I attempt to write every day during the month of October as a pre-cursor to Nanowrimo in November. Welcome to the insanity.}

Etymology is a fascination of mine. How did we get the words we have now? How did British English and American English become so different? These are the questions I mull over when I’m feeling whimsical. I read some of the lay books on it, but I haven’t studied too much into it.

The etymology of “languid” goes back to the Latin, languidus. We, as the English people, stole it from the French, languide, in the 1500s. I love how English is the bandit of languages. We get a melding of the best (and sometimes worst) words.

What I want to know is where this word came from. Who was the first person to say it? How did they decide what it meant? Why did it develop from being something that wasn’t bad but wasn’t good to being synonymous to “relaxed”. If you feel languid today, you feel relaxed and a little lazy. How did we get there?

Language is a beautiful thing and it should always be so mysterious.

Leave a Reply

