How to title this?


I’m not sure, but this is a bit of a brain dump. If I’m honest, that’s how I’ve been treating this blog lately – more of a diary and less of a semi-professional writing platform. And that’s okay, because that’s where I’m at right now. Writing is something that has sort of taken a back seat to other things. God has been working in my life and showing me how to be a more productive, caring person and my people and other things are more of a priority than writing.

I’m sad about it, because Raina was getting some traction (I have a basic outline and idea of her character now as I’ve rewritten some totally badass scenes where she does some bloody work) and I feel like I hit my stride here on the blog and then suddenly it was like a full stop. But I’m committed to being emotionally healthy and right now that means introspective journaling and focusing on my actual job.

I accept it and hope that I become structured enough that I can incorporate writing my novel into part of my daily routine. Routines are hard, guys. I have my beauty night/morning routine down, but everything else is difficult. Y SO HARD? I don’t know. I’m trying to take care of myself through exercise and good food (cookbooks are my jam right now – thank you Overdrive) and healthy relationships. Self care is so important because if you are taking care of yourself you can easily take care of others. That’s not to say that you can’t care for others if you don’t care for yourself – you totally can. But it’s so much easier to listen, to give godly wisdom, to love others when you are easy on yourself. On days that I eat healthy, exercise, clean, journal, and other things that only take 5-10 minutes of my time, I find that I am more open to give to others.

And that’s my introspection for the day. And kind of my inspiration. I want to go home and clean my room now. And do some yoga. I’ve got to get ready for my next class though and do some work. Until next time, dear reader.

Leave a Reply

