Bullet Journal Bliss


About a week ago I took the plunge and started my bullet journal. I am completely in love. And freakishly more productive. When I write down what I need to do, I actually get it done.

There are millions of articles about bullet journaling, so if you want to know more you can start here and then go onto Pinterest or Instagram. There are so many beautiful examples of bullet journaling out there, and you can get lost in it.

I’ve been researching it for a while and was a little afraid, primarily because it requires a lot of planning. You have to pick a notebook and pens and figure out a key. It seems daunting. But I just decided to start and figure it out as I go. And that’s what I did. I wanted to show you what I’ve done with my bullet journal and how I’ve customized it for me. I will note here that I’ve been doing this for SEVEN DAYS. I’m not an expert; I’m not even sure I’ll stick with this. But for right now, I’m loving it.

START:

Being an office supply addict, I had everything I needed except the journal, so I got that on Taobao, and yes it was expensive for a notebook in China. But I don’t regret it. It was worth every penny (or jiao, as it were). I got a Leuchtturm 1917 Dotted edition. Because dots are better. Then I gathered the pens, pencils, and rulers I already had and raided Pinterest for ideas to make it look pretty because I’m not a minimalist.

The first few pages of a BuJo are supposed to be the index, but this journal already had an index built in, which is partially why I got it. I don’t have the inclination or time to section off several pages as an index. That’s crazy talk.

FUTURE LOG AND NEXT STEPS:

The future log is only supposed to be six months, but I was having too much fun and just did the whole year. I found that layout on Pinterest and, because they were my first couple pages, followed it exactly. I’m getting a little more creative now. Then I made my monthly layout. This is the original month layout because I couldn’t figure how to do what I wanted. I think I have the idea for what I want now, and we’ll see if it works for me. This was a little limited for what I needed. Because I don’t set up my dailies ahead of time (I do them the night before), I have to write future appointments and what not here for now, until I can figure out a weekly layout, that shows me the whole week in one go, that I don’t hate. The one thing I knew I wanted was a habits tracker, to figure out how often I do stuff. Since I’ve only been doing this a week, there isn’t a whole lot on there, but clearly I’m not winning at writing right now. (#rainafail) Also, I added those squiggles and hate them. Notes for next month…

DAILY LOG:

I’ve been trying different headers for my daily log. I like the big banners and arrows the best. I’m not showing you this week’s because it’s simple and I already know I don’t like it. I started by tracking my water and food on each day, but decided I didn’t like that and wanted it all in one space. I also haven’t decided on a key yet, so there are lots of different ways of marking tasks. Also, I started noted things that happened each day, because I wanted to have little memories throughout. And, yes, that is a giant butterfly sticker. ❤

WEEKLY:

IMG_0017

This week was my first attempt at a weekly layout and after trolling Pinterest, I just decided to combine different ideas that I liked. So I have weekly goals, a food tracker, water tracker, and sleep tracker. And a month-at-a-glance. Essentially I use that to show me how far off payday is. 🙂

COLLECTIONS (THESE ARE MY FAVORITES):

So this is the meat in between the scheduling. You can turn anything into a collection. I have doodle pages, lists of books I need to read, menu planning, writing corrections for work, a gratitude log, a cleaning list for this past weekend, songs I love, and one that isn’t pictured: a #daily gratitude page for a couple of days where I was really struggling and needed minute-by-minute reminders of happiness. I also have a prayer page from last week at Rhema Reign.

I’ve really enjoyed doing this. It incorporates the lettering skills I’ve been practicing and productivity I’ve been striving for. I’ve learned things about myself, like my joy in life is coloring in little boxes. Who knew? Once I realized that, I set up my wrcs (writing corrections) page so I can color a box in every five wrcs I get done. It’s freakishly motivating.

I hope that this helps you on your organizational journey. If you have questions, let me know! I’ll write another update when I’ve been at it for a while.

And shoutout to my momma who gave me the almighty Yoobi pen of many colors. Thanks Mom!

Leave a Reply

