Me Before You


me-before-you-cover_

I had heard soooo much about this book. I knew I was going to have to read it eventually, but I put it off for as long as possible. But finally, I started it. And I couldn’t put it down. It grabbed hold of me, primarily because Lou (the MC) was quirky and marvelous. And our hero, Will, was heartbreaking. Here’s the summary from Amazon:

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

I will tell you that I was so shocked and unhappy at the ending that I ruined it for several people (Sorry Em). I thought it was a meaningful, beautiful love story. But I’m not sure I’d recommend it to anyone. Or that I’ll read another JoJo Moyes book, because I’m so angry.

I was resolved not to write a review, because I’m still not sure how I feel. But I figured that’s worth telling you too. Here’s a book that messed me up. I don’t know if you should read it.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Me Before You

  1. Colleen Thorsen says:

    I liked it. I didn’t agree with thoughts behind assisted suicide, but I understood the other perspective. It was well written. It sucked you in. Great characterization, and a meaty subject to sink your teeth into. It made me think, and it made me sad because God is not a part of their story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s