The Others Quartet


The Others Series

Well, Anne Bishop is my homegirl. I love her books and buy pretty much everything she writes because I’m guaranteed to love it (except for Ephemera, I pretend it doesn’t exist and you should too). After I finished reading the Black Jewels series, I couldn’t handle the emotional turmoil of another series designed to RIP OUT MY HEART, but I finally made my way to the Others. And I was in love (and lucky because there was only one book missing from the series). I finished them in the winter of this past year and waited with bated breath for March and the final chapter. I wasn’t disappointed.

Here’s the summary from Amazon (from Marked In Flesh):

For centuries, the Others and humans have lived side by side in uneasy peace. But when humankind oversteps its bounds, the Others will have to decide how much humanity they’re willing to tolerate—both within themselves and within their community…
Since the Others allied themselves with the cassandra sangue, the fragile yet powerful human blood prophets who were being exploited by their own kind, the delicate dynamic between humans and Others changed. Some, like Simon Wolfgard, wolf shifter and leader of the Lakeside Courtyard, and blood prophet Meg Corbyn, see the new, closer companionship as beneficial—both personally and practically.

But not everyone is convinced. A group of radical humans is seeking to usurp land through a series of violent attacks on the Others. What they don’t realize is that there are older and more dangerous forces than shifters and vampires protecting the land that belongs to the Others—and those forces are willing to do whatever is necessary to protect what is theirs…

I love the dynamic between the blood prophets and the wolves. The wolves see them as pups, people who need special care to enter the world, because the cassandra sangue have never dealt with the world the way others have. They were locked up for most of their existence. It’s always fascinating to see how Meg is learning new things and how she clings to the other-ness of the terra indigine (the Others). I also love the lack of sex in this series. The Black Jewels revolved around it and it could be a little stifling at times. This series is about an innocent girl and as such doesn’t have any of the seedier elements. It was refreshing.

I don’t like the shifts to different points of view. Whenever it switched over to the police I was instantly bored. There was too much information being thrown at you to recover quickly from the shifts and they weren’t long enough to allow me to adjust well. I would often skip over certain parts because I figured it wasn’t that important. Meg and Simon are the important people. Focusing on them, especially in the last book, would have been better (in my humble opinion).

Even with the tedious bits, the final book kept me on my toes. I’m hoping for some extras later, but I’m satisfied with how the story ended. And, let me just say, WEREWOLVES. I love any wolf shifter stories. Go, read them, love them.





One thought on “The Others Quartet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s