Book Riot’s Read Harder 2016 UPDATE


So I created a list of things to read last month for this challenge. I haven’t read anything on that list…whoops. But I have read books that qualify, so here is my update:

  • Horror: Sandman V.2 OR The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (cause I hate horror and this is as close as I’ll get)

  • Nonfiction Science: The Hunt for Vulcan by Thomas Levenson

  • Essays: The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

  • Read Aloud Book: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer (We are almost done…)

  • Middle Grade Novel: The Frog Princess by E. D. Baker

  • Biography: Elizabeth, the Queen  by Sally Befell Smith OR Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxas

  • Dystopian: Dust by Hugh Howey

  • Book From Decade I Was Born (1990s): Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

  • Audie Award: LATW’s The Hound of Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

  • Over 500 pages: War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

  • Less than 100 pages: Classic Love Poems by Various Authors (Read by Richard Armitage) – I am making this apply because the books I chose aren’t technically under 100 pages. And this was fantastic. Review to follow.

  • Transgender Author: Disavowals by Claude Cahun

  • Set in Middle East: The Arabian Nights by Anonymous

  • Southeast Asian Author: The Red Scarf Girl by Ji-Li Jiang

  • Set before 1900: Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

  • 1st in Series by a Person of Color: The Three Body Problem by Liu Cixin

  • Non-Superhero Comic: Saga V.1 by Brian K. Vaughan

  • Book to Movie Adaptation: Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy OR Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling

  • Nonfiction Feminist: Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay

  • Religion: Women in the Word by Jen Wilkin

  • Politics (fiction or nonfiction): The Muralist by B. A. Shapiro

  • Food Memoir: My Life in France by Julia Child OR The Apprentice: My Life in the Kitchen by Jacques Pepin

  • A Play: Lysistrata by Aristophanes OR As You Like It by William Shakespeare

  • Main Character with Mental Illness: The Curious Case of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

So…I’ve read three. I have quite a few more on hold for my e-library. We’ll see how many I actually read. Update done. Check! √

Leave a Reply

