Waking Up Early


5533e3e77e1748f988f56c76c8758c17

I have no idea who said this, but it’s spot on.

Sundays are my hardest days. For most people Sunday is a day of rest and worship. Sleeping in is a luxury and Sundays are happy to give it to you.

Now that I’m working nights, sleeping in is normal for me. I regularly sleep until noon because I’m up so late at night. Except on Sundays. Saturday nights I teach until 11PM and I have to be in the office at 9AM the next morning. That means I have to be up at 7 and out the door by 8. Life is tough on these mornings.

Rolling out of my warm bed is a chore. I can barely open my eyes. Why did I decide to get up this early?

I hate mornings.

But then I get here and I only have three hour teaching blocks and that is a beautiful thing. It’s amazing how perspective changes with a change of scenery. The office, the people, the scent of coffee. It enables me to forget how freakishly hard it was to open my eyes. and move on with my day.

For the most part anyway.

Leave a Reply

