10 Reasons Why the 2003 Peter Pan Will Own My Heart Forever


10. Aunt Millicent and her hysterics. I don’t think there has been a more dramatic aunt in the history of Peter Pan. Also, it’s Lynn Redgrave and she believes in fairies.

tumblr_n2v3dhgade1r3bj27o1_400

9. The quiet dignity of Mrs. Darling in every situation. I want to be just like her when I grow up. It balances out the nervousness of Mr. Darling to perfection.

tumblr_m10ihvfebi1r2qnt9o1_500

8. The fact that Jason Isaacs plays Captain Hook and Mr. Darling. Brilliance.

e7bc423a9a551e7f43b3b0d616f45e3f

7. The quotes. I quote this movie CONSTANTLY. There are so many snappy one-liners that it’s impossible not to love it. And it’s not just the lines, but the way they are delivered. It’s so great. I might write an entirely separate post featuring lines from this movie. They’re worth it.

tumblr_lje7l50f911qda7gdo1_500

3e98e060b99f69279676f7ca56e848e5

tumblr_nj5itf3ate1rd4558o1_500

tumblr_ndf6q1rmjz1ts0g58o1_500

6. Jeremy Sumpter. I had such a childhood crush, but I appreciate how very Peter he was now. He’ll always be my perfect, mischievous Peter Pan.

tumblr_inline_n384gegkje1s1uynl

peter-pan-o

tumblr_mbp3em7nvh1rrx80q

5. Tinkerbell in all her glory. Tinkerbell usually is my least favorite part of any Peter Pan production, but this one is sassy and perfect. I loved her.

peterpan

4. The Lost Boys, particularly Slightly. The one-liners they spout off are delightful and the way they treat Wendy makes me love them.

lost_boys

Slightly is the one with the telescope.

3. The magical world it is set in. This is the only version where I felt completely transported to somewhere else. There is an ethereal quality about it that makes it pure magic every time. It gives me the tingles all over.

tumblr_mwytft0goq1sl9wppo1_500

tumblr_lu87ogdog21r5sswqo1_500

Do you see the planets in the background? It’s so cool!

2. The soundtrack. I could listen to a million times, and potentially have. This soundtrack has gotten me through some of the roughest times of my life, because it takes me to the magic place of Neverland. I love it so much.

1. The fairy dance. It’s the most beautiful glorious moment I’ve ever watched in the history of film. It’s sweet, innocent, magical, gorgeous, and just…I can’t even. I have cried watching it before. It’s the best part of the movie.

tumblr_l68wwomcfn1qam78fo1_500

tumblr_m717wojeys1qmw1w0

So, please, if you’ve never seen it, go watch it. Watch it the way a child would. Surrender to the wonder it inspires.

 

2 thoughts on “10 Reasons Why the 2003 Peter Pan Will Own My Heart Forever

  1. pipst says:

    Seriously though, I’ve been quoting this the last few days. My favorite scene to quote is definitely the Wendy Bird.
    “And Tootles… Tootles has killed her!!!” “She must stay here and die!” “No!” “Stupid thing to say…sorry.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

