It’s a little different…


So, you may have noticed that things changed around here recently. If you’ve read this blog for a while, you know I’m addicted to theme changing, but when Sela came out last year I fell in love and it stuck. I love this WordPress theme sooooo much. It was easy to just let it do it’s default thing and just enjoy the ride, but I got a little antsy and decided it was time to sharpen my dull graphic design skills and actually make my blog shine. So I did.

It helps that WordPress gives you a few options in regards to colors with Sela. It used to be pink and now it’s blue. Which really changes the whole look. It took me a couple of hours to adjust. I also decided to make a home page and a book page. They look pretty awesome, if I do say so myself.

And now, I’ll tell you my secret. Those blog graphics you see everywhere? I made those. They’re awesome right? I can’t afford Adobe photoshop, so a couple of years ago I cruised the web and found something that makes my life easier. Canva, my friends. Canva is amazing. It’s a website that gives you templates to design stuff. I’ve started just making my own, because my vision is different than the templates most of the time. You can sign in through Facebook and go to town. They have a lot of stuff that’s free, although should you feel the need, you can buy pictures or templates from their stock.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 2.37.52 PM

This is my home page, where I have all the designs I’ve started/finished at my finger tips.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 2.38.29 PM

Sometimes I design stuff just because I can. I never use it. I enjoy doing it; it’s fun.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 2.44.39 PM

These are some of the design options.

I know that it may be a cheat, but until I become rich enough to get Photoshop, it works for me. I like it. And the designs make my blog look pretty. Go forth, dear reader, and do likewise. Then you too can make beautiful things like this:

IOWFAEG Header

Isn’t it pretty? This was meant to be my header, but it was too big. I turned it into my welcome page background without the words, but I love this. *hums happily*

Leave a Reply

