Resolutions and Renewal


I get excited about New Year’s every because it means a fresh start. I’m obsessed with idea of starting new and shedding the old me like a snake skin. I’m not the only one who thinks so.

“Tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet.” – Lucy Maud Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

“New Year’s Day is every man’s birthday.” -Charles Lamb

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language. And next years words await another voice. And to make an end is to make a beginning.” – T. S. Eliot

I have resolutions, of course.

  1. Change the world.
  2. Become fluent in Mandarin.
  3. Lose 80 pounds.
  4. Become a spiritual guru.
  5. Write, edit, and sell a novel that lands on the New York Times Bestseller List.
  6. Have the same kind of relationship with Jesus that the apostle Paul had.
  7. Run a marathon.
  8. Make copious amounts of money for travel.
  9. Find a boyfriend. (I’m a little shaky about this one. I go back and forth as to whether or not this is something I actually want…)
  10. One the meantime, live the single life like there’s no tomorrow.
  11. Read 120 books.

If I’m honest, NONE of these will happen. Not even the last one (this past year I read close to 100).

New Year’s is the perfect time for dreamers, however, I have come to realize that my dreams for the new year need to be small dreams that can be easily accomplished. So I limited myself to 5 and put a time limit on most.

REAL RESOLUTIONS:

  1. Exercise 3x a week for 2 months (they don’t even have to be consecutive…)
  2. Edit Raina//Rewrite//Send out query letters by December.
  3. Write one review a month.
  4. Read the whole Bible this year.
  5. Live, love, and laugh a little every day.

I’m tired of being a quitter. I’m tired of failing myself and not reaching for my dreams. I know that if I set my expectations too high I’ll go spiraling into an endless depression, so this is it. I look back on last year with fondness; it brought me to China. But I’m looking forward to the new year more. I want to grow, to be stretched. I want to live and know God. I want my life to be God-breathed.

Happy New Year.

2 thoughts on “Resolutions and Renewal

  1. hmanyara91 says:

    LOVE YOU NICOLE!!!!!! This post was very encouraging to me. I am reading a book by Amy Poehler “Yes Please” and I am LOVING it. Hope all is well I am praying for you and I love you TONS!

    Like

Leave a Reply

