Argo, A Study In Mislabeling 


IMG_4221
I’ve been listening to Argo: How the CIA and Hollywood Pulled Off the Most Audacious Rescue in History by Antonio Mendez and Matt Baglio. It’s been pretty awesome. It gives an inside look into how the CIA worked thirty years ago and how they rescued some Americans. There’s a movie with Ben Affleck that I haven’t seen in its entirety. I think it’s really good.
I’m at the exciting bit right now, where they get out of the country, but I wanted to write down some of my thoughts. 

I think that in the book there is a huge emphasis on the Canadian government, because they wouldn’t have been able to pull it off without Canada, and that isn’t indicated in the title or the movie that I’ve seen. It’s kind of disappointing. Like the title needs to be Argo: How the CIA, Canada, and Hollywood Pulled Off the Most Audacious Rescue in History. Because, yeah, Canada is a huge part of this story. The majority of the book is about the preparations for the rescue. Only two chapters are about the actual rescue. It’s amazing how much went into the cover story and how the CIA used (uses?) Hollywood people for things. 

The rescue part goes pretty smoothly. I like how the entire country (US) celebrates Canada after the rescue. It’s so great. One of the Canadians is called the Scarlet Pimpernel. Which is fantastic. I love that people were able to make the connection, because I was thinking of The Scarlet Pimpernel the whole time. 

I’m glad that I listened to this. Not something I will normally read, but an exciting bit of history that I would never have noticed or cared about before. President Carter is not my favorite, but I know more about that time period now and I’m glad.

The story is well-written and I think the excitement and tension are built perfectly with the timing of the tale. If you’re a James Bond person, you’ll like this story.

Leave a Reply

