Halfway


IMG_4221

So we are halfway through the month of October now. It’s kind of crazy. At the end of this month I will have been in Shanghai for 1/4th of my contract. Woohoo.

The no-romance thing is still hard. I have days where all I want to do is curl up with a Nora Roberts audiobook and a cup of tea. It’s harder still because I know that at the end of this month it’s not going to end. I pledged three months. So I can’t read or listen to romance until January. January seems like forever away. Omg. To amplify the sting of that, Ilona Andrews new book comes out soon. And there is an In Death book that came out right before I started that I didn’t get to read.

On the brighter side, I am reading/listening to books I would have put off if I were reading romance, like Argo. The movie with Ben Affleck came out a while back and I watched the end with my parents. The story is intriguing and I’m enjoying it so far. One thing I’m learning is that the CIA is scary/kick-ass and Canada is way more awesome than we give them credit for. Like they are beyond cool neighbors to have. I’m also reading Big Magic and The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag. Because Flavia de Luce mysteries are romance-less. She’s a 12 year old chemist.

I’m enjoying posting almost every day. I’ve missed two days and it’s kind of thrown me off my groove. I also haven’t really posted a whole lot of substance here. Just a lot about how I’m feeling or things I’m working through, which has been good. I do plan on reviewing a few more books on my Books of 2015 list.

I’m feeling a little homesick and forlorn. November is looming ahead of me and I don’t have an ending for my book yet. It’s making me nervous. I miss my sisters and hugs. People here don’t hug. I need hugs to survive. Emily and I cuddle a lot because we both struggle with the lack of physical contact we get from people. #Thestruggleisreal.

So that’s today. I’m planning my Bali trip so that November isn’t quite so bad. It does mean that I have to write my novel before the 26th, which is a little daunting, but I’m fairly confident I can do it. It just takes discipline, something I lack, but would do well to develop.

Happy Friday everyone…

Leave a Reply

