The Heir by Kiera Cass


IMG_4221

I read The Heir by Kiera Cass sometime ago, but I remember the book pretty well. The story is that of America and Maxon’s daughter. After disbanding the caste system, the people are having trouble adjusting and the monarchy is struggling to hold power. The people need a symbol, a sign, that things are peachy-keen.

the-heir

So Eadlyn, the princess, is called upon to have another Selection. Only Bachelorette style. All the boys come to marry the princess. The princess is independent and unwilling to marry a man just bring stability to the country. She will only marry a man she loves and I like that. Maxon and America are still themselves, but older and wiser versions of themselves. It was lovely to see them again.

I’m not gonna lie, I wasn’t a fan of Eadlyn. I like the guys in the book, but she whines. And she’s a bit of a bully. She knows what she wants, which is a plus, but instead of being willing to see all sides, she stubbornly sticks to her viewpoint without regard for anyone else. It seems incredibly selfish and self-absorbed to me. The premise is not particularly believable to me either, which is saying something. The original trilogy doesn’t scream “Reality.” It is also pretty clear, in my estimation, who she’s going to end up with. She has a Pride and Prejudice-esque relationship with one of the guys. Clearly she going to end up with him.

Overall this book was maybe a three out five, but that’s stretching it. I do want to read the next few books to find out if she changes. I really hope she does.

Leave a Reply

