Flavor of the Week: January 20th, 2015


Two days late and a dollar short, but I’m writing it! Huzzah! Part of the procrastination came from the fact that not much has changed since last week. I haven’t finished Frankenstein and I haven’t watched any new movies or TV shows, because I’ve been working. Work is the Flava of the Week. But I’ll give you a few things that I’ve been enjoying.

2015

Book of the Week: It’s actually a series; the Twenty-Sided Sorceress series by Anne Bellet. The first book is little more than 100 pages and so the character development sucks a little. The love interest/story miraculously happens. But I digress. This is the story of Jane Crow. It’s pretty badass. She’s a video game/D&D-playing, sci-fi-loving, fantasy-obsessing heroine and therefore awesome. There are Star Wars, Farscape, Firefly, LOTR, Avatar (The Last Airbender), anime, and superhero references throughout the series and it’s a beautiful thing. The last book comes out in March and I’m pretty excited. The author spent a lot of these four books becoming a better writer; it shows. If you like paranormal stuff, you’ll probably like this series. If you’re a complete nerd, like me, then you’ll definitely like these books. Have at ’em!

Movie of the Week: Mystic Pizza, circa 1988. Wow. Talk about a loaded movie. There is a lot of good and a lot of “what the heck?!” in it, but I liked it. Not as good as In Your Eyes, but good. And, you know, it’s Julia Roberts. You can’t go wrong with Julia Roberts.

TV Show of the Week: Do I even need to say? Cause obviously it’s Agent Carter. Hayley Atwell does a phenomenal job and I’m so excited to see more of it. Also, James D’Arcy is in it! The shock of the show was Chad Michael Murray. I saw him and flipped out. I was so excited. It’s a great cast and Joss Whedon and the 50s. It’s love.

Flavor of the Week: Red Velvet Oreos. Duh.

Leave a Reply

