Flavor of the Week: January 11, 2015


It’s a new year of FLAVOR OF THE WEEK posts! YAY! I’m excited. Are you?

2015

Book of the Week: While I have declared January a non-fiction month, I am trying to get through many Audible books that were on my 2014 TBR list. So I’m listening to Frankenstein, read by the estimable Dan Stevens. The story is fantastic thus far and the narration is wonderful. Dan Stevens does an excellent job and, what’s more, sounds like he’s enjoying himself. I like narrators who sound like they are having fun. I’m about 25% of the way through.

I got this version solely because the cover matched Dracula. I’m shallow like that.

Movie of the Week: In Your Eyes is a marvelous movie about an ex-convict, Dylan, and a doctor’s wife, Rebecca who find that they can experience the same sensations that the other feels through a strange psychic bond. It was a fantastic movie about freedom from co-dependence and pushing past low expectations. And love, naturally. Dylan is one of my favorite fictional heroes in film now. He was sweet and funny and not without flaws, but willing to change and push past them. Rebecca was a worthy heroine, as well. She’s fragile, but doesn’t break under the pressure of her husband and others thinking she’s crazy. I enjoyed it immensely, which should be no surprise as it was written and directed by Joss Whedon. Also, Zoe Kazan is moving her way up the ranks on my favorite actress list. I like her quite a bit.

TV Show of the Week: East & West. I’m so excited that North and South is becoming a Youtube show. I have high hopes. I featured this on my post about 2015 Youtube literary adaptations and have not stopped talking about it since it began.

Song of the Week: Opportunity from Annie. My sister Marissa is completely sick of this song, but I love it. There are two versions, one from the actress who played Annie and one by Sia. Both are excellent and I love both. This video meshes both versions together (which I wish I could have bought instead of the two individual versions).

Deliciousness of the Week: Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies. They were so yummy, but I made them wrong. So I normally would supply you with a recipe, but I can’t because what you made wouldn’t be the same. Sorry. Cinnamon is an awesome ingredient, put it in everything.

3 thoughts on “Flavor of the Week: January 11, 2015

  1. pipst says:

    Like, Wookie Cookies? That’s the recipe I have for cinnamon chocolate chip cookies. Of course, my recipe calls for 1 tsp of cinnamon, and I’m pretty sure I put in more like a tablespoon…

    Like

  2. Jenna Pirrie says:

    AHHHH In Your Eyes was so good. Isaac and I watched it a few months ago and I think I’m going to talk him into watching it again with me. Zoe Kazan is fantastic, and Whedon, OH WHEDON.

    Like

Leave a Reply

