2014: Favorite Reads


2014_ Favorite Reads

I read a lot last year. I read so much that I surpassed my goal of 100 books in September or October. I re-read a lot as well, but I was inspired by my friend Jenna Pirrie (she’s awesome; go check her blog out here) to write a list of my favorites. So here I go.

Honorable Mentions:

Most of these are series that I got swept up in quite easily, but aren’t really literary classics or as awesome as some others.

This is Atticus O’Sullivan. He’s the star.

The Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne. This story of Atticus, his dog Oberon, and his apprentice is amazing throughout the series, but I confess, I didn’t finish it. His exploration of religions and magic is magnificent and fresh and I do enjoy a good Celtic god story. Overall, I became a little obsessed and then moved on. But it has a special place in my heart.

The Selection series by Kiera Cass. I wrote a review, which you can find here. I found this refreshingly different from most dystopian society series and enjoyed it immensely, and over the course of 48 hours. I’m excited for the next book to come out. (It’s about the daughter. WHOO!)

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I wrote a review here. I enjoyed this book. I am wary of reading the rest of the series, because it was an excellent stand-alone novel and I don’t know why she had to ruin it by writing more. Lol. I should probably read the next, but we’ll see. Also, the tv show is amazing and I love it. Possibly more than the book. Is that blasphemy?

And on to the show:

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Review here. There is nothing about this book that I don’t love because Cath is me. I am Cath. Yup.

Flight vol. 1-4. edited by Kazu Kibuishi. These are some of the most beautiful comics. I love the theme of Flight. I’ve only read the first four, but there are eight volumes total. I enjoy them immensely.

I rotated between listening and reading.

I rotated between listening and reading.

The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick. The reason I loved this book so much is because I love the show so much.  The Lizzie Bennet Diaries was a fantastic part of my life and it continues to be as they write more books. It’s great.

THIS WAS SO GOOD.

Dracula by Bram Stoker. Obviously this didn’t come out last year or in the last hundred years or so. But this was my favorite audiobook that I listened to all year. The cast was phenomenal and it’s Dracula, so obviously it’s fantastic. It’s

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. There are lots of reasons why I love this book and I can’t tell you a single one of them. This is a bookstore mysteries. If you like books, bookstores, mysteries, and/or Google, you will like this book.

Veronica Mars and The Thousand Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham. This is much like The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. I loved the show, loved the movie, and the books are narrated by Kristen Bell. So of course I liked this. It was a good mystery and well-integrated into the Mars world. It’s also a new introduction to Neptune, so if you’ve heard of the craze and wondered, this is an interesting way to be introduced.

And last but certainly not least: Orthodoxy by G. K. Chesterton. No one has ever explained theology in quite such a way. There are chapters on fairies and an assumption that magic is real. I loved it. Read it and you’ll love it too.

That’s all folks. Here’s to a delightful year of reading ahead. I’ve already started my 2015 list. I hope to read a lot more non-fiction. As I do every year. We’ll see.

4 thoughts on “2014: Favorite Reads

Leave a Reply

