Flavor of the Week: September 28


It’s Sunday, which means a new week! And the first full week of the autumn season. HUZZAH! So, let’s get this party started.

Book of the Week: Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman. This man…I mean really. He is brilliant. And poetry feeds my soul. I forget that sometimes. I’m reading the Penguin Classics version, which includes footnotes and an excellent introduction. I’m enjoying it quite a bit. Right now I’m reading Whitman’s introduction and it’s gorgeous. Some lines for you:

“Here is the hospitality which forever indicates heroes…Here are the roughs and beards and space and ruggedness and nonchalance that the soul loves.”

‘Merica! Walt Whitman describes it beautifully. I’m pretty sure I stuck this on my fall reading list (or if I haven’t, I will).

Show of the Week: This week I’m highlighting Classic Alice. Because it’s awesome and because, for the first time, I actually have an OTP. An OTP is your One True Pairing in your fandom. Classic Alice is my fandom and Alice and Andrew are my OTP. For serious. Here’s the first episode, check it out.

Movie of the Week: I’m going back in time and pulling a favorite autumn movie of mine. Mona Lisa Smile. That’s right. Julie Stiles, Julia Roberts, Kirsten Dunst, Ginnifer Goodwin, and Maggie Gyllenhaall. All awesome. This is a great movie to watch with all the feminist outrage hitting the internet, it’s a woman power movie. And since Once Upon a Time is starting up today you should brush up of Ginnifer’s acting. Just saying. Also starring the gorgeous Dominic West, Topher Grace and Jordan Bridges (who stars in Rizzoli and Isles as a cop, swoon). If you’ve never seen this, now is the time. Here’s the trailer…but go get it from your local library.

Song of the Week: Happy by Ayiesha Wood. This song was stuck in my head this morning, but it’s good. I like it. It’s hipster, ’cause Ayiesha was Happy way before Pharrell, yo.

Flavor of the Week: I’m going with a cupcake flavor. Apple Cobbler Cupcakes. Oh man. I’m putting the PDF of my recipe for this here. I got the recipe from thecupcakeproject.com. It’s amazing. I made a few modifications…This is NOT a dairy free recipe. It’s got butter and Greek yogurt in it. Just saying.

Apple Cobbler Cupcakes Recipe

Leave a Reply

