Flavor of the Week


Book of the Week: Forever Princess by Meg Cabot. I just finished it and will post a full review soon, but needless to say I’m glad I made it to the end of Mia’s journey. Even if it took me over ten years to get there. Michael was perfect as always. He’s pretty much my hero. Meg Cabot should write his diaries next. “The Boyfriend’s Journals”. Lol.

Movie of the Week: Belle. Oh my goodness. I watched this last night with my family and there are no words that can adequately describe what this movie did to me. I wish I could be a Vulcan and just show you. The story follows Didot Belle in a world before abolition where she is half black, half white, but is able to claim her father’s name because he loves her. Her struggle with her family and the men that she encounters is almost heartbreaking. One of the best scenes is when she is sitting in front of her vanity and rubbing her skin, wishing the dark away. I cried. Also the romance. Mr. Davinier is a true gentleman and willing to explain the current state of the world to Belle, unlike the rest of her family. If you haven’t seen this movie yet, go now. You won’t regret it. Promise.

He is ridiculously attractive for a man with a ponytail.

Show of the Week: Nothing Much to Do. This is a web series based off Much Ado About Nothing by Shakespeare and it’s delightful. All the characters are high schoolers in New Zealand (which is fantastic). Benedick is British and is, therefore, the odd duck. Right now we are all waiting with bated breath to find out what happened to Hero after she was shamed and also, FOR THE BENETRICE KISS! This is when they are supposed to get together!! I have no idea if that’s their couple name. I just made it up. Start binge-watching now…

Song of the Week: Yes, I know this is a cliche at the moment. And potentially a cop out from trying to pick something better…BUT THERE IS NOTHING BETTER. Shake It Off by Taylor Swift. Embrace it, my friends, because this is my theme song for the year. Listen to it, love it. Be a part of the crowd. No shame.

Flavor of the Week: Switching it up to coffee/tea beverages…Starbucks Blackberry Mojito Tea Lemonade has got me hooked. I need to find a way to replicate this at home but until then Starbucks has my loyalty. It’s a delightful blend of sweet, tart, and minty. You think those flavors don’t mesh? TRY IT. I’m in love. With a drink. Oh goodness.

One thought on “Flavor of the Week

Leave a Reply

