Autumn Reading List


I get so excited about fall. Scarves, hats, and boots, oh my! And books. Reading with a cup of tea in your warmest, coziest sweater. It’s the best. I like making reading goals that I don’t live up to, so here we go again. My aspirations and dreams for the reading future.

I don't own this picture. I found it on Google images.

I don’t own this picture. I found it on Google images.

So first, here is my progress through my summer reading list.

  • Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard. Tom Stoppard is a genius. He wrote the latest Pride and Prejudice movie and many other things. I’m excited to read this.
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker. I’ve started it many times. I’d really like to finish.
  • Wool: Omnibus by Hugh Howey. I heard about this before it was officially published. Howey self-published first and got picked up later. I’m really interested to read his masterpiece.
  • Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen. I’m 1/3 of the through this and I fully intend to finish this before the end of the summer.
  • Waking Kate by Sarah Addison Allen. It’s the short story before the book above. Sort of like a longer prologue.
  • Notes from a Blue Bike: The Art of Living Intentionally in a World in a Chaotic World by Tsh Oxenreider. It’s great so far. I’m excited to read it.

I read six out of sixteen books. So here is my fall list.

  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo. I have officially started this and would like to get a few chapters into it this season.
  • Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Henry Ford. For real. I need to read this.
  • Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell. Molly Gibson is my favorite. I need to finish this.
  • Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry. I’ve had the audiobook forever. I need to finish listening to it.
  • Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. It’s a classic and I’d love to read it before I watch the movie. And I really want to watch the movie.
  • The Everlasting Man by G. K. Chesterton. Love it so far. I want to finish it so much.
  • Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery. Autumn is the perfect season to re-read this series and express my love for it.
  • Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman. Gorgeous poetry. *happy humming ensues*

And that’s it. I also wish to write reviews for all the books I read, but we know how awesome I am at that. Happy Autumn, everyone!

5 thoughts on “Autumn Reading List

  1. Jenna Pirrie says:

    I recall lo-lo-loving Hunchback of Notre Dame. I don’t even really remember what stood out to me with it, it was too long ago, but I’ve had the thought come up multiple times lately that I should reread it.

    (In fact, I’ve just impulsively stuck a cheap [but pretty] mass market copy into my Amazon shopping cart. I’m struggling to resist impulsively clicking “purchase” now!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

