My OTP


For those outside of the know, an OTP is “One True Pairing.” The one fictional couple that you, as a fangirl (or fanboy) hold above all the rest because they were Made To Be Together. 

Infinite Ink challenged us Bout of Bookers to tell her all about our OTP and I have to say, this is a tough one. Who is my OTP? Hmm…

I’m going to go with a classic, because classics never go out of style. 

Gilbert Blythe and Anne Shirley. Be still my beating heart. From Anne of Green Gables. Obviously. 

If you don’t know the story, Anne is an orphan who is taken to Green Gables to be raised by bro/sis (awesome) duo Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert. She is super dramatic and empathetic and proud. And she hates her red hair. Gilbert takes to her instantly, however insults her by calling her “Carrots” which starts an almost indefinite rivalry between them.

“Carrots!”

Anne can never forgive him for making fun of her hair and he can never get over how she keeps snubbing him. Until one day, they do. They become friends, but it’s kind of clear that Gilbert’s in love with her. He rescues her multiple times. It’s so perfect.

“Anne Shirley.”

That’s really all I’m going to say. Go read the series and sigh over them. Gilbert particularly. Then go watch the movies and sigh again. And again. 

There are two adaptations of this book out there on the interwebs. One is just an episode of an awesome show called Kissing in the Rain. It stars my favorite, Mary Kate Wiles. The other is Green Gables Fables. It’s a web series put together by some seriously dedicated high school students. They are doing a marvelous job adapting it.

3 thoughts on “My OTP

  1. pipst says:

    They are definitely up there on my fav couples list. I honestly don’t know if I have an OTP simply bc I love so many. But Gilbert and Anne are top five for sure. Partly because they remind me of Ben and me. I know, I need to stop my lame marriedness 😜

    Like

Leave a Reply

