The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet


It is no secret that I am a HUGE fan of The Lizzie Bennet Diaries series on Youtube. When announcements for this book went out I was ecstatic and couldn’t wait to read it. Then I got the book and I was in the middle of a move and life happened. I started it and put it down and picked it up and put it down. Now, thanks to Bout of Books, I HAVE FINISHED! And I’m glad I did.

I rotated between listening and reading.

I rotated between listening and reading.

This “diary” is a companion to the show and complements it excellently. Bernie Su and Kate Rorick did a magnificent job. I’m not sure if it could stand on its own or not, but I would encourage newcomers to the media sensation to give it a try.

The story centers around Lizzie Bennet and her two sisters, Jane and Lydia. It’s a modernization of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen so you might be wondering, where are Mary and Kitty? Mary is a cousin and Kitty is an ACTUAL CAT. Which I love.

Lizzie is a Mass Comm grad student and struggling with life, student loans, inquisitive parents, and a lot of other common issues the millennial generation encounters. Lydia is an…er…energetic youngest sister who just wants to be loved by her sisters. And Jane is too nice. As usual.

The great thing about this version is that Lizzie isn’t the only who makes strides in the character development area. Jane gets a backbone and starts to take charge instead of getting walked all over. Lydia learns that outrageous isn’t always best. Lydia is actually my favorite character in the show because she is shown to be vulnerable and in the novel you see so much more. You learn about Jane’s 48-hour scare and Lydia’s insights into others. And you learn that Lizzie really does care about her family long before it shows it in the videos. I think that’s the biggest flaw in the show, you don’t really get that she loves her mom or Lydia, it seems like she just tolerates them. However, you know she has a lot of affection for those she teases on the show in the book because you see her feelings and what she hides from the camera. I liked that a lot.

 I also liked that we got to read Darcy’s letter. And we got to see the day in the city that Gigi and Darcy take Lizzie on. It was a glimpse into the stuff you only hear about in the show and I liked it. A lot.

I especially like Mr. Bennet. He is much more Mr. Bennet in the book than the show, where you don’t really see him. The conversation between him and Lizzie about Darcy at the end was perfection. *warm fuzzies*

If you can’t tell by my repetition of the phrase, I liked this book a lot. It was funny and emotional and well written. If you liked the show, you’ll like the book and vice-versa.

And if you liked both or either, check out Emma Approved! It’s about to reach the finale and you won’t want to miss it!!

2 thoughts on “The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet

Leave a Reply

