Some Lazy Days of Reading (Coming Soon to a Summer Near You!)


Laugh

I love this post. All the hopes and dreams of the summer, with the knowledge that I absolutely will fail. It’s so great. I have created a Goodreads shelf all about my 2014 Summer Reading List (I keep deleting books from it though, because I read them pre-June…June starts my summer reading).

So here’s my list, for better or worse. I wanted, as always, to focus on classics, but I also want to get back to some YA reading because I’ll be working with them again soon and I need to know what’s good and what’s crap. So here we go.

  • Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead by Tom Stoppard. Tom Stoppard is a genius. He wrote the latest Pride and Prejudice movie and many other things. I’m excited to read this.
  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo. I want to read Victor Hugo and I don’t want to read Les Miserables. So this is my choice. I know I won’t finish it, but I want to start.
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker. I’ve started it many times. I’d really like to finish.
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I’ve started this too. Again, I’d like to finish it.
  • Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Henry Ford. I’ve owned this book for a while, but I’ve never started or finished it. I look forward to finally getting to it.
  • Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell. I love the mini-series. I’ll love the book; I know it.
  • Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry. Do I need to explain why I need this book in my life?
  • Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. It’s a classic and I’d love to read it before I watch the movie. And I really want to watch the movie.
  • Wool: Omnibus by Hugh Howey. I heard about this before it was officially published. Howey self-published first and got picked up later. I’m really interested to read his masterpiece.
  • Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen. I’m 1/3 of the through this and I fully intend to finish this before the end of the summer.
  • Waking Kate by Sarah Addison Allen. It’s the short story before the book above. Sort of like a longer prologue.
  • The Once and Future King by T. H. White. I’ve never actually read this, but sometimes I pretend I have. I’d like to actually read it so I don’t have to pretend anymore.
  • One Thousand Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I started this over Spring Break and I liked it, but I had to return the book to the library.
  • The Vintage Teacup Club by Vanessa Greene. This is about a group of women who form a teacup club. Why wouldn’t I read it?
  • Notes from a Blue Bike: The Art of Living Intentionally in a World in a Chaotic World by Tsh Oxenreider. It’s great so far. I’m excited to read it.
  • Justification by N. T. Wright. I’ve been wanting to read this since college. Ta-da! This is my non-fiction quota for the summer.

So there it is. What are you planning on reading this summer?

Leave a Reply

