Only in my dreams…


Over the past several months I have been watching booktube videos and researching graphic novels and visiting bookstores and I’ve developed a list of the most beautiful books and the ones that look the most interesting. In the next couple of months I’d like to acquire at least a few of them, but here is my top ten list, complete with pictures, of all the books I want and why.

1. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. This is a gorgeously illustrated, widely acclaimed graphic novel and I’ve wanted to read it since I saw the previews for the movie. I think it will be thought-provoking and beautiful.

This is volume 1 and I just got it from Amazon.

2. My Ideal Bookshelf by Thessaly La Force and illustrated by Jane Mount. Booktuber BooksandQuills just got this in April and spoke about it in her April Haul video, which you can go watch here. BooksandQuills always recommends the most gorgeous books in her videos, so a lot of my wishlist comes from her. This book is gorgeous and I want to know about what other authors would wish for on their shelves. I actually just got this one as well. It was a few dollars on Amazon, so I went for it.

Here is a picture of one of the bookshelves. I love the drawings.

3. The Penguin English Library Collection. This also came from the video above. Penguin has a delightful collection of hardback, clothbound classics and I admire those. However, I really love paper back versions of classics and these are gorgeous. They are the same design as the hardback but they are soft, paperback versions. I love it. There are 100 books in this collection and it’s damn near impossible to get them in the US. So good luck to me, but I do really want them.

This is one of my favorite covers. It’s so trippy.

4. The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg. This is beautifully illustrated and I liked the review that BooksandQuills gave. (I really ought to learn her name…I think I know it, but it’s alluding me at the moment.) It seems like something I would really enjoy.

So pretty…

5. Maus by Art Spiegleman. I went through a lot of trouble to find the best graphic novels out there right now. Quite a few comprehensive lists have been made, but this series is on every single one. It’s a story about WWII, from a mouse’s perspective I presume. It looks very interesting. Edit: This is, apparently a biography of the author’s father’s experiences in WWII, during the Holocaust. I apologize for the error.

Volumes 1 and 2.

6. The Unwritten by Mike Carey. This is on Felicia Day’s Goodreads page and she rated it four stars. Felicia Day is, in my opinion, the goddess of all nerdy knowledge, so I trust her recommendations of graphic novels. The story revolves around a boy who may or may not be the Harry Potter of his world. It looks pretty awesome.

An excerpt of the novel.

7. The Ocean At The End of The Lane by Neil Gaiman. He sometimes scares me, but mostly I’m just in awe of his imagination. I want to be at least part Gaiman when I grow up. This hardback is gorgeous and I want it. The End. I don’t actually know what the story is about, but a lot of people I know liked it, and that’s enough for me.

Just look at it! It’s so pretty!

8. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick. This book makes me want to create something exactly like it. It’s unique and beautiful and strange. I love it. I haven’t actually read it, but I love it. I must own a copy sometime soon.

9. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz. The Booktuber on Youtube just got this and talked about it in his haul video, which you can watch here. The cover is so pretty and the title so…interesting. I’d like to read it and potentially own it due to it’s gorgeous quality.

10. Last, but certainly not least, Well-Read Women: Portraits of Fiction’s Most Beloved Heroines by Samantha Hahn. This is so colorful and great, bringing life to some of the greatest heroines in literary history. It make me happy.

The jacket cover

This is Alice in Wonderland. It’s captivating. I love it.

So that’s it. The most beautiful books I want to own. Which ones do you want? Any that you think are prettier?

2 thoughts on “Only in my dreams…

Leave a Reply

