My Library Haul


Here it is! Yet another update about what I’m reading. I only do this for you…This is a list of books that I recently checked out from the library and either have read or will read very soon. THIS IS MY HAUL!

  • I, Robot by Issac Asimov. I’m not far enough into it to let you know what I think or feel. I had a strong, almost overwhelming, urge to read some classic sci-fi and this book has been on my “to-read” list FOREVER. So I got it from the library a month ago and only started reading it today. I love the movie with Will Smith, but I’m not sure the book will be anything like it. And I’m okay with that. I’d just like it to be interesting.

  • So Many Books, So Little Time by Sara Nelson. This was a last minute grab before check out. The title intrigued me and the Mary Kate/Ashley show theme song entered my head and so I checked it out. I’m enjoying it. It’s a non-fiction account of Sara Nelson as she reads 52 books in 52 weeks. I’m in February right now and it’s fascinating to know that someone thinks about books and chooses them the same way I do. I’m excited to finish.

  • Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale. This is a sequel to Austenland about another young lady who journeys through the Jane Austen experience. I have high hopes, so we’ll see. I really want characters from the last book to pop up again. *crosses fingers* Here’s hoping.

  • How to Eat a Cupcake by Meg Donohue. This book made it on to my “to-read” list due to Goodreads. I’m not sure what it’s about except two friends who open a cupcake shop together.

  • Someone Like You and That Summer by Sarah Dessen. These are some of her earlier books that I’ve never read. I know the movie “How to Deal” was based of these books and it interested me. I think I’ll enjoy these. They’re quick reads.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I’m currently reading How to Read Novels Like a Professor and it talks a lot about this book. I had never realized that this was a book of magical realism and that it was a forerunner in the genre. I didn’t really know much about it at all, except that it was considered a classic, but that I was never required to read it. So this is the start of a summer of classics, preferably classics that are new to me. I really want to like this book.

  • Pinocchio: Vampire Slayer Vol 1 by Val Johnson & Dusty Higgins. This starts the Graphic Novel portion of the post. I saw this and I couldn’t resist the premise. Pinocchio? AS A VAMPIRE HUNTER? Count me in! It’s a black and white comic that looks to be super dark and potentially awesome.

  • Sandman Vol 1: Preludes & Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman. I just wrote a review all about this. My feelings are wishy-washy about it. Read it here.

  • Death Note Vol 2: Confluence by Tsugumi Obha. I really enjoyed the first volume of this comic and am excited to continue the adventure of Light and L and the epic face-off to come. I hope that L wins.

  • Sense and Sensibility adapted by Nancy Butler. I just finished reading this and the graphic novel caught my attention. The artwork is phenomenal and now graces my phone as the background. I can’t wait to read it.

  • Flight: Vol 3 edited by Kazu Kibuishi. I just finished this as well. I’m really enjoying these volumes. They are anthologies. Each comic is about some aspect of flight. They are pretty great. I plan on reviewing the first three volumes sometime in the near future.

So that’s my library haul. I hope that you enjoyed it and I’ll let you know what I think of these in the future!

 

Leave a Reply

