Oy with the Poodles already!


Gilmore Girls wasn’t a staple in my life until I started watching two girls when their mom worked nights. Jennifer was a nurse and I would come over and eat with the girls and send them to bed at an appropriate time. The brilliant thing about this was that both girls were pretty self-sufficient and they had all six seasons of Gilmore Girls. The season that shall not be named hadn’t come out yet. It was my first time watching GG and it illuminated my life. Lorelei and Rory introduced me to Casablanca and Toblerone (which I actually don’t like too much, but it was an experience). I fell in love with Dean, Max, Jason, Logan and wished that Jess would just look at me once. I cried with them and laughed with them and felt all the spectrum of emotions. Recently, I’ve been reliving that experience a little. I started with Season 4 and moved on from there. Rory’s dedication to writing and journalism inspired me to write a review of all seven seasons of this delightful show, one season at a time.

SEASON 1:

Lorelei Gilmore is a single mom trying to raise her daughter Rory the best she knows how. Everything has been going swimmingly until Rory gets accepted to an elite private school and Lorelei doesn’t have the money to pay, forcing her to go ask her parents, from whom she’d been estranged for 20 years (or something similar to that). Emily and Richard Gilmore lend her the money on the condition that she and Rory attend dinner at their house every Friday night until Rory graduates. And thus the story unfolds.

I got to say, this season is potentially my least favorite. It feels too slow an introduction, but I guess that’s to be expected of a small town like Stars Hollow. I so wish this town existed. With the town meetings and the one diner and the cute gazebo. I’d go there all the time (However, being a city girl, I’m not sure I could live there). Lorelei and Rory are completely lovable right off and are the reason you stick with the show. Meeting Luke, the grumpy cat diner owner, was one of the best parts. He’s fantastic throughout the show until season 6, but more on that later.

The whip-fast dialogue is marvelous and is one of the reasons the show is so popular. Lorelei and Rory’s relationship is the other. It’s not necessarily a model for all mother-daughter relationships, but it’s entertaining and full of love, laughter, and often tears. Their dating lives are full of intrigue and specialness too. The first episode Rory meets Dean, who looks totally BA, but is actually a teddy bear. And Lorelei meets Rory’s English teacher, Max Medina, who is played by Scott Cohen, one of my personal favorites. They have…ups and downs.

I don’t really like Dean; I never have. He’s too needy. He does have one thing going for him. Dean is one of the few “Gilmore” men that understands their relationship and how to interact within that. The other two are Christopher and Luke. None of Rory’s other boys seem to get it, but Dean knows and it’s nice that he is loved by Lorelei as well as Rory. Max is my second favorite choice for Lorelei. He understands her and loves her just the way she is and it’s a beautiful thing.

Various people show up as reaccuring characters. Christopher, Rory’s dad, shows up. He and Lorelei have an on-again-off-again relationship of sorts. They flirt and have fun, but Chris is too unpredictable for Lorelei to rely on. Luke’s old flame, Rachel, shows up, but leaves by the end of the season. Chad Michael Murray also pops in sporadically as another option for Rory, but she is with Dean for the duration. At the end of Season 1, Max proposes and Lorelei says yes. Rory and Dean say “I love you” after rocky bits in the middle and Luke is left alone, with his repressed feelings.

Honorable mention to Kirk who is a universal favorite and Lane who is my favorite until season 5.

 

Leave a Reply

