What I’m Reading…


Surprise! It’s an update on my reading list. What am I reading right now? Well…my goodreads list lies. Here are the three books I’m working through for real.

  • Atlantis Found by Clive Cussler. I’ve had a minor obsession with Dirk Pitt for a while now; more so than ever after Matthew McConaughey played him in Sahara. I now have that beautiful image in my head. I tried, for a while, to find the first book and read them in order, but I’ve given up that quest and just picked one that I found interesting. This one looked very interesting. I’m only a couple chapters in, but I like it so far. There’s already a bad guy and intrigue involved. I’m excited to finish it.

  • Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen (audiobook). I’m having trouble with this one. Usually I get into SAA novels easily. It’s like sliding into a bubble bath or the first taste of crème brulee. I don’t know if it’s due to the fact that I’m listening to it first, but I keep stalling. I’ll listen to 30 minutes and then just stop for a while. It’s mildly irritating, because I’d like to finish. But I’ll keep at it until it becomes more interesting.

  • Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell (audiobook). So I have an Audible account, from which come many audiobook choices, but recently I’ve also been frequenting my local library for audiobooks to play in my car and I picked this one up last Tuesday. I’m already on disc 2 out of 7. I’m excited. I love the way Ms. Rowell writes and her characterizations are magnificent (see rant on Fangirl). Park is probably my new favorite fictional person. Well, almost. Levi still holds that title. Anyway, I love being able to pick up a story in my car and the suspense that comes with it. It’s not an instant gratification thing. It’s a wait and savor it thing.

I love the CD art.

I’m SUPPOSED to be reading Sense and Sensibility too, but I keep picking other books up. Maybe that will be my goal for this weekend, to finish S&S and arrange a time for JABClub. I also need to finish the Thomas Covenant books and the Pixar book from Audible. But I’ve sort of paused all that to read adventure novels and listen to sad but delicious chick lit. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

