Buttercream Frosting Sans Cream


So the first recipe I shall bring to your attention is this delicious not-quite Buttercream Frosting. It’s a vegan version and while I’m not vegan, it is DIVINE! I put it on these spiced apple cupcakes from SORTED yesterday and I saw God (maybe not quite, but close).

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of shortening
  • 1/2 cup of margarine
  • 3 1/2 cups of powdered (or confectionary) sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup of plain (UNSWEETENED) soy milk

This makes A LOT of frosting. So prepare yourself.

First you are going to beat the shortening and margarine together. I did it with a fork. You can use a Kitchen Aid, or electric mixer. Doesn’t matter just so long as it’s all mixed together and kind of fluffy. Once it’s fluffy add the sugar and mix that in. The directions said to do it for three minutes. I did it until it was all mixed together.

Then you should add the vanilla and the soy milk and beat it all together for an additional five minutes or so. I did this all by hand because we were watching Anne of Green Gables at the time and I didn’t want to drown out the dialogue with the mixer, but you should use electricity, by all means. I imagine it would be much easier.

Then VOILA! You have AMAZING not-quite buttercream frosting. TA-DA!

Here is the site I got the recipe from: http://www.chow.com/recipes/10856-vegan-fluffy-buttercream-frosting

Next time I make it I want to use vanilla bean instead of vanilla extract. I’ll let you know how it goes.

The finished product!

The finished product!

Leave a Reply

