One Day


The movie cover for the book. I love the two of them together. ❤

One Day was sad and romantic and wonderful and heart-wrenching. I had watched the movie, so I knew it was sad. I actually think that the film was more tragic to me, but I loved the book.

The story is about Emma and Dex and what they do on the day they met, July 14, over the course of 20 years. They meet the year they graduate university, in 1988. Emma always had a thing for him, but he was a ladies man. They become good friends though and stick together until Dexter is a complete jackass and Emma can’t stand being around him anymore. Then he meets someone and he changes and becomes halfway decent. Emma isn’t a saint either, but in comparison to Dexter she seems like it.

As I said, I saw the movie before reading the book and I thought the book would have more to it than the movie. It did, but not as much as I thought it would. If you’ve seen the movie, I would encourage you to read the book, because the writing is superb. But it isn’t all that different. I enjoyed the movie just as much as I enjoyed the book.

The book cover pre-movie

There is some sex and language in it. This is another book I wouldn’t recommend to anyone under 18 years of age.

[Spoilers]

There are a few minor differences in the book-to-movie adaptation that I could tell. For one, Emma Morley has an affair with a married man. They didn’t put it in the movie, but I understand why. They wanted to show the contrast between Dex and Emma as much as possible. The affair doesn’t last long and it doesn’t change too much of the plot.

After Emma died, Dexter moves on and gets another girlfriend. Her name is Maggie and she works at his Cafe. It surprised me, but it shocked me more how mercenary he was about it. She fills a hole for him that Emma left behind.

Overall, if you’d rather watch the movie, you could. The acting is fantastic, Jim Sturgess particularly. The book is fantastic, but to be honest, I liked the movie more. Perhaps it’s because I saw it first. It is one of my favorite romantic movies ever, and that might have something to do with it. I truly love that movie and the book is just as good.

Leave a Reply

