A New Year…What am I gonna do?


I linked the original link to the picture. Just click it and you’ll find the source!

With the start of a new year according to the Western calendar, there comes a lot of introspection and reflection. What did I do last year? What am I going to do this year? I’ve found that I don’t really know. I’ve quit my barista job and started two others, but I haven’t made any real progress paying off my debt and I feel…aimless. It’s not a happy feeling. And while setting some professional goals feels like a hopeless endeavor, I can set some goals for this blog and my other.

I know that blogging every day is beyond me. I can’t do that. However, I am becoming more serious about my craft and writing every day is important, whether it be my book, or on the internet, or simply journaling. So my goal for 2014 is to have one creative thing each week. I would, ideally like to post here each week about what I’m reading and reviews on every book I write on my book list. Which would mean posting things on my book list that I’m not ashamed of so I can write reviews.

Reading-wise, I want to ingest more things that will improve me as a person. I’m in the middle of Orthodoxy by G. K. Chesterton and have a pile of books to read after. I would like to finish those books that I’ve started and have said I’d finish years ago. I started that with Anna Karenina and I’d like to continue. I want to read more non-fiction this year than I ever have before.

Also, my mom got a beautiful camera for Christmas that I am allowed to use. I’d really like to take one picture a week that isn’t horrid. Starting this week.

This seems like a lot looking over it, but I know that I’m up for the challenge. I don’t know what God has in store for me this year. I don’t know what I want to do, but I do know that I want my relationship with Him to grow and my relationships with others to reflect Christ absolutely.

We have celebrated together
that Jesus Christ came not only for Christians,
but to be known by every person,
every country, every culture on earth.
For he is the Savior of all.
May we come to know him better
and then make him known to others,
especially by the way we live.And may almighty God bless you,
the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Go in peace of Christ
and walk in his light. Thanks be to God.

 (I got the liturgy from this site.)

Leave a Reply

