Writing for REAL


I haven’t given it too much thought. I write with the eventual goal that I want to get published, but today I started thinking about goals.

What the heck are those? I live my life like a reed in the wind. I am a lone reed…

Okay, not true. I am one of many individual reeds who pretend to fight the power, but are actually just wallowing in their own cowardice. Fear has become a big thing for me lately.

I haven’t written fiction in a while. Not my book ideas anyway. I’ve spent a lot of time writing on this blog, or in my writing notebook, but I’ve avoided Raina and my other short story projects like the plague. Why? Because I’m scared they’re terrible. But, as Sam taught me in A Cinderella Story, you can’t let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game. So, I’m starting this adventure, and if I fail, so be it. I’m already surprised by the number of people who are supporting me.

So here are some mini goals, to which I want you, dear reader, to keep me accountable:

  • A couple years ago, I wrote my novel Raina. I’m rewriting it and I’ll post sections up here. The first will be next Tuesday. Every Tuesday, I’ll post a new section. It won’t be consecutive sections, but excerpts so that internet trolls can’t steal the entirety of my story.
  • Every Friday I’d like to post a book review. It might be a book that I read years ago, or one that I just finished. I’m struggling through a regular format for that, so bear with me, it might be a little bit before I find my rhythm. So first review for this starts tomorrow.
  • I’ve said this one before, so I don’t blame you for not believing me, but every Saturday there will be a short post on what I’m currently reading. I’ll be honest, so if I’m re-reading something, you’ll know. I need to get back on track with my non-fiction stuff. I hope to finish Quiet in two weeks, so look for that.

And that’s it! I hope you guys come back to read more…

One thought on “Writing for REAL

Leave a Reply

