Ethical Blogging and Non-Fiction


I’m condensing this into one post because I don’t think I have much to say about ethical blogging. I never really thought about it before because I’m not a huge part of the blogging community due to my lack of consistency. I would like to assure all of my readers that I’m never paid to do a review, and I only say what I think about the book. I always joke that I’m a bad actress because I can’t be anyone other than myself. I think that’s just as true online as it is in real life. I can’t help but be who I am and I’m not gonna fake it to pump up someone, even if it’s someone I know. So…bloggers should blog ethically and not pretend and promote something they don’t care about or don’t believe in.

Today’s genre post is about non-fiction. I was really happy about this because it is my summer goal to read at least seven non-fiction books. You can see my list here. I always make huge lists of what I want to read and then deviate and feel largely unaccomplished. But I’ve been discovering non-fiction that I really like. I have trouble with non-fiction because it’s not an escape. It’s not some magical world that can whisk you away and make you forget your troubles. It’s all real, and that can be disappointing. For the longest time non-fiction bored me, but I began to find books that interested me and taught me things. I can say, with absolute confidence, that I have loved all the books I’ve read of my own accord in the past three years. I read a lot of non-fiction for classes and I didn’t care for some of it as much. I also read some books with my mom and for various jobs and it didn’t really speak to me… However, I’m getting a pretty good sense of what I like. It’s encouraging and exciting to me, because there are A LOT of books I haven’t read in this genre. 😀

Here are the books I’ve read and LOVED in the past couple years:

  • Radical Womanhood by Carolyn McCulley (read 2010)
  • On Writing Well by William Zinsser (read 2010)
  • Book Business by Jason Epstein (read 2011)
  • Unseduced and Unshaken by Dr. Rosalie DeRosset (read 2012)
  • Are Women Human? by Dorothy L. Sayers (read 2012)
  • A Jane Austen Education: How Six Novels Taught Me About Love, Friendship, and the Things That Really Matter by William Deresiewicz (audiobook) (read 2012)
  • A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway (read 2013)
  • A History of the World in Six Glasses by Tom Standage (audiobook) (read 2013)
  • Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist (read 2013)

I finished the last three in the past week. I started Tom Standage’s book at the beginning of the year, and have been chugging my way through ever since. When I finished I did a happy dance. For the most part, non-fiction slows me down, and I like that. I like meandering my way through books and discovering new things. I also really like listening to non-fiction. My next audiobook is Our Magnificent Bastard Tongue by John McWhorter. I’m so excited.

So don’t knock non-fiction. There are some really good and interesting books. If you like narrative style, definitely read biographies or autobiographies. A Moveable Feast is a great way to start. David McCullough is a historian who has written a number of books and biographies about various times in our country’s history. I read John Adams when I was in Jr. High and loved it because John Adams was a fascinating man and David McCullough wrote it so well.

Okay, I think that’s enough non-fiction enthusiasm. 😉 Do you have any books to recommend for my Summer 2013 Reading List? What do you think of non-fiction books? Do you have a favorite?

4 thoughts on “Ethical Blogging and Non-Fiction

  1. Jennifer says:

    What a great goal! I really want to read Quiet too. Somehow I just haven’t gotten around to it. I know I will eventually because nonfiction is my very favorite. I have so many nonfiction books to recommend that I don’t know where to start 😉 The World’s Strongest Librarian is a recent fave. So funny and touching.

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    I love your enthusiasm!! 🙂 I’d definitely need someone to get me hooked on nonfiction. As things are right now, I run kicking and screaming when someone wants to make nonfiction sound enjoyable for me 🙂 But I get your point. I’m convinced you can find a good book in really every genre if you look hard. And the nonfictional ones I have read were all really good, so maybe I should give the genre another go. For example, there are a bunch of historical and philosophical topics that I’m interested in and that I think I would like reading about…

    Like

Leave a Reply

