Literary Fiction


I think a lot of times when we think of literary fiction we think of every book that isn’t in a genre. But to me literary fiction is my dark chocolate. They are a small collection of books that have influenced me to think differently. Contemporary classics, if you will.

They’ve fed my soul in times of my life that were dark and taught me to see the beauty in what I have. They’ve made me laugh, cry, laugh again, and love. I’ve fallen in love with all the characters; not just the dashing young men, but the old men, the old women, the kids, the young women, and the babies. Some of my best friends can be found in the pages because I know them so well and somehow they know me too. These are the things that literary fiction has given to me.

If you’re new to literary fiction, or a connoisseur looking for something new, here are some that I’d HIGHLY recommend:

  • The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer (what’s that? I’ve recommended this book in almost every post? Oh, well then maybe you should read it…*sheepish look*)
  • The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen
  • Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson
  • Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery
  • A Damsel in Distress by P. G. Wodehouse
  • I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
  • The Princess Bride by William Goldman

These are my favorite. I hope they’re as good to you as they were to me.

5 thoughts on “Literary Fiction

  1. annettesbookspot says:

    I’ve read The Guernsey… Great book — I’m not a huge fan of “literary” but I need a fix once in a while. Nice to meet you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

