Blogging Development


Hello, day 2. 🙂 Today in New York there are a lot of cool conferences happening about blog development and Armchair BEA has asked a variety of questions for todays post.

The purpose of the conference is to foster “blogger development”–and clearly, that development can go in a variety of directions! Today, we’re inviting you to talk about your approach. Have you branched out into your community? Do you partner with other bloggers? Have you gone “pro” or tried generating some income through your blog? If you’re a long-term blogger, how has your online personality developed over the years?

So I’ve been blogging for three years and have taken part in activities similar to this one, but I still don’t have a following because I’m inconsistent, as I’m the first to tell you, and also because I don’t have a narrow enough focus. I don’t just write about books; I write about life and my experiences here. Sometimes it bothers me that I don’t have multitudes of internet people screaming my name, but for the most part I’m happy just to put my voice out into the void.

So I haven’t really branched out into my community. I don’t partner with other bloggers, because I don’t know many. That’s why I joined this year. I’m making a decided effort to be more consistent in my reviews and writing this summer and I’d like to make some new friends in the blogosphere. I like reading other people’s blogs. I like all of this great discussion about books and blogging. 🙂 So, if you ever want to partner with me or do cool things, I’m totally open to it. Just be aware that I’ve never done stuff like that before.

The one thing that I can say positively about this blog is that my voice has developed and I’ve come out of my internet shell. When I started this blog I was in college and had written half of a novel (it was very bad), but I hadn’t figured out that voice is super important in writing. I was like an automaton. I then started writing reviews and other stuff. I joined the Jane Austen reading challenges sponsored by Austenprose and NaNoWriMo and Script Frenzy and slowly my writing became mine. Now I’ve written a novel, a very bad play, a couple of poems (I’m not sure if they’re bad or not) and a lot of reviews. This blog is my outlet to talk about issues that are important to me, to write about my mornings, to complain sometimes, and to talk about books that I love (or don’t, as the case may be). So, that’s how this blog helped me develop. My writing is so much better now and I attribute that to this platform.

If you’re an experienced, well-known blogger reading this, do you have any suggestions to getting myself more involved in the book blogging, or any blogging circles? Any advice? Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Blogging Development

Leave a Reply

