Summer Reading…a revision of my 2013 list


At the beginning of this year I wrote a list of 24 book that I wanted to read; 12 fiction, 12 non-fiction. Six months have passed and I’ve succeeded in reading two of those, both fiction. So here is a revised list of books. I have downsized on both fiction and nonfiction, because I hope to get all of them done this summer. I’ve kept the ones already finished in the list.

Non-fiction:

  1. Under the Tuscan Sun: I am partially through this book. I will finish it! I am determined.
  2. Cold Tangerines: Same goes. I’ve been trying to get through this for a while. I really want to finish it this summer.
  3. A Moveable Feast: I’ve wanted to read this for a while. Open Books brings new ideas into my life and this was one of them.
  4. Bird by Bird: Ann Lamott’s book has sat unread too long. I’ve heard wonderful things.
  5. How to Read Like a Professor: Do I really need to say why I want to read this?
  6. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking: I have my copy now and have heard marvelous reviews!
  7. 1776: I’m gonna finish. I know I am.

Fiction:

  1. Daddy Long Legs and Dear Enemy: I really do want to finish this one, the first half was so cute!
  2. Anna Karenina: I’m really enjoying this! I didn’t think I would. But this is another that I want to finish now.
  3. The Casual Vacancy: Another “to finish” book.
  4. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
  5. Bartleby the Scrivener
  6. Toad of Toad Hall: It’s a play that I know I’m going to love, so I must read it.
  7. Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet: I kept it from my Chicago days, so I really should get around to reading it.

Eleven books to read, most of them, I’m simply finishing, but I’ll be happy to have more on my “read” list.

Happy summer!

4 thoughts on “Summer Reading…a revision of my 2013 list

  1. willyshakeslove says:

    Do you have Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore? I’m trying to decide whether to add that one to my list of summer reading. I love seeing Anna Karenina on your list, as well as The Casual Vacancy and Quiet! You have inspired me. I may make my own decided summer list of reading goals.

    Like

    • Nicole says:

      I do not have the 24-Hour Bookstore, but it is on my list to read this year; I’ve heard wonderful things. And you should always make a list, so you know how distracted you got over the summer. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

