More of my favorite things


A couple of years ago I titled a blog post “These are a few of my favorite things” and wrote about book cakes. It is my number one post on my blog, with 986 views since I posted it two years ago. The only other page that’s been viewed as much is my home page. And the next closest post was at 246 views. In light of this, I realized that A LOT of people must love cake and books as much as I do. And that A LOT of people were obviously looking for a compiled list of book cake ideas and so came to see my post. So I’m going to do it again. Thanks to all who have viewed my book cake post and inspired me to come back two years later. I hope that you are inspired by these cakes and if you ever need a taste-tester, or someone to say, “OOOOOooooo…that’s pretty,” I’m always willing to oblige.

Alice in Wonderland is a fabulous book and I love that this cake is in the shape of a teapot. It embodies the book beautifully. I love it. 🙂

So, I’m pretty sure that the teacup is made of cake/icing too. This is an AWESOME cake. I am literally awe-inspired. I want it.

Oh my goodness. I love this. The trees and the red. Ugh. Perfect pop-up book cake.

 

This is gorgeous.

This is similar to the other superhero cake I added last time, but I like this one better. Aquaman is a part of it! WHAT! (That was a Lydia Bennet reprised by Mary Kate Wiles “WHAT!”)

This is excellent. Not a book cake persay, but a perfect Harry Potter cake. If I ever have children this would be their eleventh birthday cake.

I find this one a little gross, but you have to admire the idea. Perfect for a med school student…

I like that they changed the names to be his name. Good old Wilfred. 🙂

Last post I made a plea to Harry Potter fans, not to allow Twihards to overwhelm the book cake world. I’m proud to say that they haven’t and that Potterheads have dominated! This is a pretty awesome cake.

The only thing that could ever make classic comics better is cake. Obviously.

Um. yes. If I could recreate this cake for my friends on their birthdays I totally would.

I know that this is yet another Harry Potter cake, but don’t you think it’s the best thus far?! I think I would actually be mildly frightened to eat it.

Quick fairies! Escape while you can!

A cake ode to Roald Dahl.

And now Percy Jackson fans step up to make cakes. I’m so proud.

 

I was just waiting for this one to pop up.

I thought it only fair to scare the crap out of you with this LOTR cake.

Then to soothe you with this image of Bilbo and Gandalf chilling at BagEnd. I don’t know that I could eat that cake.

Yup. This is a cake which re-enacts the battle of the Bridge of Kazadum (spelling? Rachel, correct me).

Are you sensing a theme? But seriously, this is an awesome Minas Tirith cake.

This encompasses my childhood. In one cake. Happiness.

And just for kicks and giggles I thought I’d end with this life-size Darth Vader cake. I chose a picture of it after pieces had been taken out, because initially I didn’t believe that it was a cake. But this is awesome, right?

I hope you enjoyed this tour of cakes! If you think I should do another post, doing a specific genre of book cake or even a specific book/series let me know. I really enjoy finding these. 🙂

 

 

One thought on “More of my favorite things

  1. pipst says:

    I know it’s Khazad, and I think there’s something different about the dum, but I don’t have a copy handy to doublecheck. But super close! And I’m not sure if I should be honored or humbled by the fact that you asked me to correct the spelling. Haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

