What I’m Reading


I’ve decided to at least attempt to update once a week, on Saturday, to let you all know what I’m reading and what I think. So here goes…

  • The History of the World In Six Glasses by Tom Standish

I’m loving this book. The six glasses are Beer, Wine, Spirits, Coffee, Tea, and Cola. I’m only on wine, but what I’ve already learned! I’m listening to this via Audible and the narrator is fantastic. I’m obviously not done yet, but I’d encourage you to go get it. I love it.

  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

I’m not very far into this either, but I’m really enjoying it. I tried to read it in high school, but swiftly got bored. Now, though, I find that Tolstoy style and the language is just beautiful and the transitions from character to character is seamless.

  • The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

Harold grabs at your heart and doesn’t let go easily. I started this book last fall, but I’m determined to finish it before I go to Chicago in May. When you find a book like this, you can’t help but give it to everyone you know so that they’ll enjoy it too. I can’t wait to finish so I can put in the hands of someone who will love it.

  • The Knowledge of the Holy by A. W. Tozer

I am learning so much through this book. It’s a good review of a lot of the theology I learned at Moody with a sprinkling of the new. It keeps my mind engaged and makes me think. So I’m liking it. I’ll be able to make a more rounded review when I’ve finished, I think. Unlike the other three books on this list, I can’t pass judgement based on the first few chapters.

  • Divided Allegiance by Elizabeth Moon

This is the second book in The Deed of Paksennarian series that I’ve been listening too. Elizabeth Moon writes about the everyday dullness of a soldier’s life without making it dull. The slow pace is something that I actually enjoy and it allows me to take breaks in the listening, rather than listening to it non-stop until I finish. I enjoy books that I can actually enjoy rather than slam through. Paks is a multi-faceted, if a bit naive, and deals realistically with the troubles of being a woman in an army. It’s set in it’s own world, but there isn’t anything that is particularly unrealistic about it. My disbelief has been suspended just enough. I’m excited to finish. The first book of the series is called Sheepfarmer’s Daughter.

Yup, I’m reading five books at once. Hopefully that’ll go down a little. See you next Saturday!

Leave a Reply

