Seasonal Books…


Okay, a challenge, issued by Kristilyn at Reading In Winter, is to list a book for every season. So here we go.

Summer: Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen OR The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen

Fall: The End of the Affair by Graham Greene OR Savor the Moment by Nora Roberts

Winter: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling OR North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

Spring: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Anne Barrows OR Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson

Ta-DA!

Another challenge from BookSmartie, is to say what we eat while we read. I eat whatever is around. Sometimes I read during dinner, sometimes I eat snacky candies. But I think my favorite thing is when I read a Sarah Addison Allen book. Ever since I participated in the Sarah Addison Allen challenge of the summer, I make a three cheese grilled cheese and tomato sandwich while I read her books. OMG. It’s sooooo good. Also, because S. A. A. always incorporates food into her books, she has recipes for each book on her website. Which is super yummy. So that’s what I eat when I read. If you want to start a Sarah Addison Allen book, read The Peach Keeper (see above for link!) and make yourself a yummy grilled cheese sandwich.

And the last challenge from Books With Cass, is to list your favorite contemporary book of 2012, your favorite contemporary cover of 2012, and your most surprising contemporary read in 2012.

I’m not gonna lie, I’m not a huge contemporary fan, so what I did read probably isn’t all from 2012, but I’ll try. 😀 (On a side note, I just looked up the definition of contemporary literature and that means NO MAGIC. I didn’t know that, so I’m not sure if S. A. A. counts? I’ll pick two favorites.)

My favorites were probably The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen and Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

My favorite cover…The Last Boyfriend by Nora Roberts (does this count as contemporary? I’m still hazy as to the actual definition…does it have to be a YA book? I don’t read many of those! AH!)

And my most surprising…um…probably The Peach Keeper. I just fell in love with the book and the characters and now I rave about it. But I’m not actually certain if it qualifies. Oh, well. *shrugs*

END CHALLENGES!

9 thoughts on “Seasonal Books…

Leave a Reply

