Bout of Books DAY THREE


So day three was very…productive? Fun. Day Three was fun. 🙂

I finished The Hobbit and let me tell you, I had completely forgot how marvelous it was. There were so many moments that I had forgotten. I had forgotten Beorn (I’m wondering how that even happened). And many many other fantastic moments.

The thing that surprised me the most was how completely BA Bilbo was. He rescues the dwarves many times; he’s smart and witty; basically he saves the day. It rocks! The hobbit is smarter than everyone other than Gandalf. It’s ridiculous!

Thorin Oakenshield has alway been my favorite, even more so now. He makes mistakes, but he’s pretty awesome and when he finally gets his inheritance, I got really excited.

The one thing that hit me about the book was how different it was from LOTR. There’s not as much menace; it’s kind of all fun and games. Now, it might have been the narrator (Rob Inglis), but I think a lot of it had to do with the fact that this was before the rise of Sauron…evil was less evil.

I wrote a whole post about how excited I am about the movie, which you can read here.

Okay, the other book I read was The Ruins of Gorlan: The Ranger’s Apprentice Book 1.

My little sister really loves this series and I thought I’d give it a try. I enjoyed it a lot. It was an easy read; I got through the whole book in less than a day.

It’s a tale about a boy named Will who becomes the Ranger’s apprentice (if you couldn’t tell). The Rangers are basically the spy/policeish force of the world and pretty awesome. Will trains in archery, knife-throwing and other cool things (like tracking!). He and his friend Horace become battle ready and fight a wild boar together, which is pretty cool.

The only big annoyance was that the end happened too quickly. Will is happily training with his master, Halt, when suddenly it’s like, “There are assassins about! We must track them! GO!” and they’re off. Things aren’t explained really well and then just as suddenly it’s all over. I think he should have saved the assassin thing for a separate book, because it just happened WAY too fast.

So I’d recommend it for kids or if you’re looking for a light read. It’s not half bad. 😉

Wednesday
Number of books I’ve read today (total time and pages): Finished 1 book! (4 hours 45 minutes) Finished another book! (272 pages)
Total number of books I’ve read: 5
Books: The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien (FINISHED! WOOT!) and The Ranger’s Apprentice: The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan
Challenges: 2 – I did the word search and  the zombie cover guessing game. :)

4 thoughts on “Bout of Books DAY THREE

  1. Jenn says:

    The Hobbit is amazing! I want to reread it soon. This is my first time to your blog and I love love LOVE your header. My eye immediately went to Sense and Sensibility as well as Cranford. Those are two of my favorites.

    Like

    • Nicole says:

      The Hobbit IS amazing. I love it. Thanks! I seriously searched forever to find the perfect header. I haven’t read Cranford yet (though I’ve read North and South), but I plan to.

      Like

Leave a Reply

