Bout of Books DAY TWO


So, I completed several AWESOME challenges. Which you can read here.

But I didn’t get that far in my reading. I completed one chapter of Jane’s Fame and got over halfway through The Hobbit. I didn’t do any reading when I got home from work. Mainly because I went to my friend Andie’s house and then my friend Skyler came over. So I had to interact with humans and not books. Not that it was bad, I actually had a lot of fun, but I wish I had gotten more read. The good news is that I read so much on Monday that I’m way ahead, so it’s okay.

Sadly, I won’t be joining the Twitter chat tonight (so no Twitter jail), because I’m going over to a friend’s apartment. I was going to attempt to land myself in Twitter jail, but that will have to wait until the next chat.

I’m really enjoying The Hobbit! I had forgotten many scenes and the narrator (Rob Inglis) does a fantastic job! Not as awesome as my dad, but pretty good. He sings all the songs and the voices are pretty distinct. I’d forgotten about Beorn and the fact that Wargs are in this book. Also, I’d forgotten how much singing there is! SO MANY SONGS! It’s delightful.

I’m a chapter in to Jane’s Fame and I’m kind of depressed. It’s been fascinating to learn about Jane’s family and all of the writers among them, but, as a writer myself, I’m beginning to despair. Jane is the only Austen that earned international and timeless renown. The other geniuses are hardly known anymore. It makes me sad inside.

Tuesday
Number of books I’ve read today (total time and pages): (6 hours, 24 minutes)(21 pages)
Total number of books I’ve read: 3 and a half
Books: The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien and Jane’s Fame: How Jane Austen Conquered the World by Claire Harman
Challenges: 3 (see my awesome post and limerick…)

One thought on “Bout of Books DAY TWO

Leave a Reply

