Bout of Books DAY ONE


Welcome to day one of my very first READ-A-THON. I will be updating sporadically, as I work today (and every day this week…), but I’m listening to Graham Greene’s The End of the Affair and I want to record my thoughts as they come. It’s read by Colin Firth and I’d like to write him a letter, asking (potentially begging) him to read all books in the future. His voice is like rich dark chocolate mousse. Yummy. (Okay, I may have taken that too far. Sorry).

20120813-155258.jpg

This is my review/thoughts as I listen to the book:

I like that the main character is a writer.

I don’t like Sarah. I don’t like Maurice’s obsession with her. You aren’t meant to . Maurice hates her and loves her. I simply hate her. She’s terrible and manipulative. *grumble*

“Why doesn’t hatred kill desire?”

Maurice still wants Sarah even though he hates her. He hates her because she brings him to the point where he is jealous of her husband, Henry. He hates her because she isn’t loyal to their affair. She’s had many affairs. It’s sad and mildly ridiculous.

Absolutely ridiculous. Maurice has hired a detective to follow Sarah about. Ridiculous.

Okay, this woman is having a fight against God. She claims that she doesn’t believe in God, but she’s talking to him. So, of course, she does. After a rendezvous with Maurice, there is an explosion and she trades her association/time with him in exchange for his life. She thinks he must have died. But then he is alive and so she cuts off all association. It’s like that season of Gossip Girl, when Blair prays that Chuck will live…I bet they got it from this book. Graham Greene is so excessively scandelous. This is all a flashback.

You kind of feel bad for Sarah, but she dug the hole she’s wallowing in. For real. Just get over the angst already.

Well, Sarah died. Half of me feels like it’s good riddance. The other half is sad, because she realized how wrong she was in the end.

Poor Maurice is now jealous of God, who occupied dear Sarah’s thoughts, especially at the end. Strangely enough, Maurice and Sarah’s husband Henry are good friends now. Henry invited Maurice to come live with him, so they live together now. Strange how the loss of a love united two former enemies.

This whole book is about what it takes to love. Maurice claims to hate her, but he is only angry because he’s in pain. He loves her so much that he can’t handle not having her. But is that sort of obsessive behavior love?

“My hate is as petty as my love.”

It’s curious to think about. I’ve never been in love, so I don’t know what that kind of passion feels like. Maurice can’t write anymore. It’s sad. I have to say, his explanation of the writing process is one of my favorite things about this book. He parallels the way that an author pushes an obstinate character, to God pushing the obstinate human. It’s a good analogy.

I like the companionship between Henry and Maurice as well. It’s curious. You don’t expect it to happen. Maurice certainly doesn’t. The story is told in first person, and Maurice doesn’t expect any of the events that happen. He doesn’t believe in the supernatural at all. But poor Sarah did. And that is the other thing the book is about. It’s a question – is there a God? And if there is, why does he allow pain to happen? Sarah asks, in her journal, for peace to be given to Maurice. Because she loves him.

I’m pretty sure I love this book. I can’t remembering feeling this much since Jane Eyre. For real.

The book ends with Maurice and Henry walking to a bar, and with Maurice praying that God would leave him alone forever.

So, now you have had an account, minute by minute, of my listening to The End of the Affair. No review necessary, I should think.

Monday
Number of books I’ve read today: 3 (6 hours and 32 minutes)(573 pages)
Total number of books I’ve read: 3
Books: The End of the Affair by Graham Greene (read by Colin Firth), Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready, Shift by Jeri Smith-Ready
Twitter Chats: 1 (I had SO MUCH FUN!)

4 thoughts on “Bout of Books DAY ONE

  1. Pepca says:

    Wow, three books already! You must be a fast reader! I’ve never listened to an audio book, but Colin Firth has a beautiful voice, so I imagine it would be nice listening to a book read by him! Good luck with the rest of the readathon and have fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

