Empty that Shelf Challenge


Most of the time, the reason I don’t do challenges is because I have trouble blogging about them. So here is my very late post about the Empty that Shelf Challenge.

I read one book. It sounds pathetic but those were a couple of busy weeks for me! But the book I finished was one I had been DYING to read, so that made it better. I read The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde (one of my very favorite authors). Once again I was blown over by the imagination of the man.

In this book (the third book of the Thursday Next series), Thursday is hiding from Acheron Hades demented sister, Aornis, who is a mnemonomorph; that means she can mess with your memories. And in this world, if you can’t remember it, it never existed. Which is a problem because Thursday’s husband, Landon, was eradicated and technically doesn’t exist anymore. He only exists in her memories. She takes shelter in the Well of Lost Plots. As usually she defeats bad guys and saves books. It was excellent.

What I liked:

I liked the idea of Aornis. A mind virus is stealing Thursday’s memories, not Aornis herself, because Aornis can’t exist in the Well of Lost Plots. Only members of Jurisfiction can. I really liked the character awards too. Poor Heathcliffe. I liked that her grandmother just suddenly appeared in the Well, with no explanation, to help her with the baby and keep her memories of Landon alive. Miss Havisham was as delightfully crazy as ever and I enjoyed her escapades with Mr. Toad from Wind in the Willows quite a lot.

What I didn’t like:

It felt too long. I stopped and put the book down several times, so it wasn’t a compulsion read for me. I’m not saying that that’s bad, I just wished that it had gone a little quicker. I also am silently grumbling about the fact that nothing has really been done about the Goliath Corporation and that Landon is STILL GONE. REALLY? It irritates me.

I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book. On to book four! It encourages me to see that the title refers to Shakespeare: Something Rotten.

Leave a Reply

