Summer Reading


It’s that time of year again. The time of year when I compile an impossible reading list for the summer. I had this inspired idea this year, to put all the books I haven’t read from the past two lists together and try and get them done. WOOT! I will, inevitably, read other books to review, but I’d like to see how many I get done.

From 2010:

  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • Lorna Doone by Richard Doddridge Blackmore (started, but not finished)
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (We’ll see if I can actually finish it…ugh)
  • Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
  • The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe (We actually own a copy!)
  • Tess of the D’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy
  • Bartleby the Scrivener by Herman Melville (I’m so excited to read this)
  • Old School by Tobias Wolff
  • The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway (Ugh. I’m attempting Hemingway again)
  • A Case of Exploding Mangoes by Muhammed Hanif

I read eight out of eighteen, which surprised me. I hadn’t thought I’d gotten so many done, but it was delightful to read this list. Some I probably won’t read (like the last one), but it’s nice to put it on the list.

From 2011:

  • Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist (I can’t wait to finish this book!) (still)
  • The Book Thief  by Markus Zusak (This has been on my list and on my shelf for quite some time. I really need to read it) (started, but not finished)
  • The Man Who Was Thursday by G.K. Chesterton (I will alternately listen and read it. The audiobook is excellent thus far.)
  • The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan (I’m obsessed with him right now, so why stop? I fully intend to read all of his works.)
  • The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling (still haven’t read it again…)
  • Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis (I’ve never read it. Which is sad.)
  • The Problem with Pain by C.S. Lewis (I read this in high school, but I’m excited to revisit it.)
  • 1776 by David McCullough (I still really want to read this.)
  • The Iliad by Homer (translated by Alexander Pope, because Pope is the only one who did it right. This is another reread.) (yup)
  • Forgotten God by Francis Chan (I hear it’s excellent.)
Leave a Reply

