Oh my beloved Guernsey…


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows has been in my top ten list since I read it in Spokane. It was one of those books that I shredded through and then went back to read, because it was so beautiful. Well, it’s been a couple of years and I couldn’t remember if it was light, chick-lit or good, character driven fiction. I was assuming it was good because it’s composed of letters between the characters.

The story is about Juliet, a thirty-something writer, looking for new subject matter shortly after WWII. She receives a letter from a man on Guernsey asking about the author Charles Lamb. Thus begins a lovely stream of correspondence from London to Guernsey full of anecdotes about Guernsey during the occupation, specifically about the group of people who started the Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. The society started to hide the fact that they were feasting on roast pig. That’s all I’m giving you.

I instantly fell in love with every character in this book. It’s not that they don’t have flaws; they do. Each person is riddled with them, particularly Juliet. She’s impatient and a little crazy. My favorite characters were Juliet, Dawsey, Sidney, and Mark. There are several love interests/flirtations throughout that are conveyed through the letters.

The letters are wonderfully written and show perfectly who each character is. If you can’t tell how charming it is within the first few letters, you’re not a human being. This book gripped me, in a way that few do. I can’t recommend this book highly enough. So go read it. πŸ˜€

P. S. A film adaption of this book is supposed to come out in 2013, starring Kate Winslet and directed by Kenneth Branagh. If you like this book, you might want to look out for that.

One thought on “Oh my beloved Guernsey…

Leave a Reply

