It’s the end of the world as I know it…


I have started this post too many times. I just don’t know what to say. I’m graduating in less than a week and it’s terrifying. I don’t know what to think, what to write. I’m basically entirely uncertain of my future.

At church this Sunday, there was a song that made me cry (which seriously isn’t difficult these days; people give me a hug and I practically burst into tears) and the chorus was: “Oh taste and see that the Lord is good all you people, all you saints, all you children of the king.”

The Lord is good in every circumstance. In my graduation, amidst my fears, while my family is here, when they move, when my friends all go to different places. The Lord is still good.

Not a day this week has passed where I haven’t cried because a critical time of my life has passed. But with the tears comes an excitement at what will come tomorrow. At the idea that something new, something greater exists beyond this.

Growing up with my older sister was often a challenge, but I learned quite a few valuable lessons from her. The most important to me right now is that life is an adventure. Brianna has adventures every day. She can’t help it; things happen to her. And I love hearing about her life (although it’s mostly through facebook) because she’s so full of life. I’m starting to view this as an adventure. It’s like white-water river rafting.

The only time I went rafting was with my dad and sister and the Cunninghams in North Carolina. I had never been before, so I had no idea where the rapids were. It was scary. But it was SO MUCH FUN! There was a small waterfall at the end and going over it was the biggest, scariest, most exhilarating thing I had ever done. Graduation is like the waterfall. Or, I guess this summer is. I might fall out of the raft and drown. That would be scary. But if I make it, I know that it’ll be terrific.

Okay, enough metaphors and deep thoughts. I’ve had all I could handle (and I’m under 400 words). Maybe I’ll continue to process in 400 word increments.

Leave a Reply

