Whimsical Dark Chocolate


Yesterday I visited Open Books (my favorite bookstore ever!) and began to peruse the titles. I was looking for something, but I couldn’t put my finger on exactly what I wanted. As I toured the store, it became more urgent in my mind. What was I looking for? I found this copy of Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand when it hit me.

Whimsical. I was looking for whimsical. I wanted something that was romantic, but that wasn’t gross. And I only had two dollars in my pocket, so it had to be the perfect price. My friend Ruth was with me and caught me glancing through the Chick Lit.

“I want a dark chocolate book.” I explained to her. “All they have here is cotton candy. You can only read one every great once in a while, or you get sick and throw up.” She laughed and told me that was a good comparison. I continued the hunt for my whimsical dark chocolate book. I looked in the children’s section, the sci-fi section, the mystery section, literature and romance. I found nothing.

I really had wanted to buy Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand. I loved the cover and it was on my list of books to read. Whenever I see a book that I think I’ll like, I take a picture. I had seen it in Estes Park and so it was on my picture list. I mourned that I couldn’t afford the beautiful book and attempted to move on. In my last moments, I clawed through the $1 bin, desperate for something, anything to quench this desire in my soul. And I found it.

I read the first part yesterday and am excited to continue! However, because I struggled through all that, I decided to create a list of whimsical dark chocolate titles that I would like to read or to recommend to others who must be looking for the same. Since Major Pettigrew is listed above, I shall start with one of my favorites:

  1. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Schaffer and Anne Barrows. The only reason I know what a whimsical dark chocolate book is, is because I read this my freshman year of college. It started me on this kick of historical memoir-type books. I highly recommend it to everyone because it’s so bittersweet.
  2. Life of Pi by Yann Martel. I hear it’s excellent, but this is in my “want to read” column.
  3. The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde. I don’t know how I could possibly recommend this enough. This book is so imaginative and wonderful that I have read it twice and practically thrust it into people’s hands when they ask me for a recommendation. It usually goes like this: “Nicole, what should I read?” “AHH! READ THIS NOW!” *grabs book from shelf and throws at person* “Okay!” A couple days later (or weeks, depending on how slow of a reader they are) they come back saying, “AH! BEST BOOK EVER!” Thursday Next is sassy, headstrong, smart, and can read herself in and out of books (a skill I totally wish I had). There are several books in the series, and I’ve only read the first two, but I fully intend on finishing it.
  4. Miss Pettigrew Lives For A Day by Winifred Watson. When I saw Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, I naturally thought of Miss Pettigrew.

    I saw the movie and fell in love with Miss Pettigrew and her steadfast nature. I desperately want to read this one day. Hopefully, that day will be soon.

  5. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. Despite Robert Pattinson’s appearance in the movie version, I want to see what all the hullabaloo is about. It was categorized under “whimsical” at goodreads.com, so I’m gonna go with it.

That’s really all I’ve got. I can’t wait until I reach that day, in the not-so-far-off future where I can sit in the warm sun and read this with an iced honey vanilla latte and a daisy at my side. Doesn’t that just make the best picture? The warm, summer wind blows in and it’s just wonderful? I can’t wait.

One thought on “Whimsical Dark Chocolate

Leave a Reply

