I can’t think of a good title for this blog post


My first day interning at David C Cook was yesterday and so many things happened. I actually made a list of things I wanted to put in here. When I arrived yesterday morning, I was delighted to find an Apple monitor at my desk.

My desk. I had a USB cord and was able to charge my iPhone. πŸ˜€ And look at my super cool new cup. It has a straw.

It makes me happy to be sitting here typing on a iMac (during my lunch hour). My supervisor is Renada and she is lovely. I’m actually supervised here. They are giving me many assignments, but I feel like I’m in a controlled environment, not the hodge-podge randomness of Moody. It’s delightful. And here are the books that I’m required to know/read.

Yay books!

For my first day, I decided to dress up a bit, trying to make a good impression you know. So I wore heels. I never wear heels. I now have many blisters. It was a ridiculous idea, but they were super cute.

Here’s my ID badge and the mission statement of David C Cook.

I’ve already learned a lot, but foremost is the difference between copyediting and proofreading. I already knew a lot of it, but I read a lot more. My first project was to proofread an index, which was fun. I’m also shadow-editing a book and found out that a pet-peeve of mine is starting too many sentences with “and.” Technically speaking, you should never start a sentence with “and,” but there are times when it could be appropriate. Filling a book with “and” sentences is absolutely unacceptable.

I have to briefly rave about the cuteness and hugeness of this place. It’s a ginormous building three stories tall with a park in the front. I’m on the third floor, in the sales department, but right across from editing. In the girl’s bathroom there is lotion and a magazine table. It made me giggle.

Although yesterday was only my first day, but they had me go with a freelance, fiction editor to talk to a 15-year-old who wants to be an editor and intern here. It was funny, because I talked to her long after Nikki (the freelance editor) did.

One of my favorite things in the whole world are post-its. I love everything about them and every kind of them. Tabs, notes, lists, etc, I love them all. And look how many I got!

Look at all my pretty Post-its!

My parents have a small group and one of the men in it is Eric Thurman who is a higher up here. I mentioned that I knew him during my tour and ended up outside of his office. I have met him several times, but he didn’t recognize me at first, and then when he did it was awkward. That was the most intense of the many awkward moments I’ve had here, including when someone went to my supervisor asking if I could please keep my shoes on? Apparently people here don’t appreciate a free spirit or the fact that my blisters feel like they’re on fire.

The last cool thing I’ll leave you with is the awesome coffee machine. It brews fresh coffee each time, though the hot chocolate is clearly a powder, but it’s still awesome. In a bit, I’ll post a picture. All in all, I’m pretty excited to work here. It’ll be a good experience.

5 thoughts on “I can’t think of a good title for this blog post

  1. andieroeder says:

    Yay for intern experiences! I’m so happy for you πŸ™‚ Love that you’re getting to do what you love! And I am too! Let’s Skype soon!

    Like

  2. RG says:

    Hey N. Your job sounds like you’re going to lean a lot.
    If I was brave I’d show you how messy my desk can get..post it notes (digital and paper) all over the wall and double monitors…mss stuffed onto shelves etc

    Have fun there!
    Psst…always roll your sleeves up and carry a piece of paper when you leave your desk πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

