Hi, I’m Nicole and I’m a Facebook addict…


Yup, it’s true. I’ve been off Facebook for less than a day and I’m suffering withdrawal symptoms. Boredom, grumpiness, that antsy feeling that you get when you don’t know what’s happening every second of every day with your friends. Yeah. I’ve got it all. So I’m writing on my blog as a way to tell the world what I’m doing, even if I can’t see what they’re doing back (unless you COMMENT! pleasedeargodi’mbeggingyou).

Today I haven’t done much. I’ve watched two episodes of NCIS: LA, my new favorite show starring Chris O’Donnell. O’Donnell is my current favorite D’Artagnan in any version of The Three Musketeers to date. In October that will all change. I’m absolutely positive. Logan Lerman is starring in the new theatrical version of the beloved classic by Alexander Dumas. Logan Lerman is incredibly attractive and was in Percy Jackson. 😀 Yeah, I kind of have an obsession. Others in the cast for Musketeers include Matthew McFadyen as Athos, Orlando Bloom as the Duke of Buckingham, and Ray Stevenson as Porthos. I’m pretty hyped about it. I’m pretty sure it’s going to be fantastic and I can’t wait to see if Constance actually dies.

Left to right: Logan Lerman (D’Artagnan), Luke Evans (Aramis), Ray Stevenson (Porthos), Matthew McFadyen (Athos) 

You know who wrote the screenplay for it? ONLY MY IDOL ANDREW DAVIES! Screenplay writers get such a bad rap. Which is to say, no rap at all. When people talk about a movie they say things like, “The director did such a great job” or “The acting sucked. (Enter name here) needs to do way better on the next one”. But let me ask you a question random reader, do you ever give any thought to who wrote that movie? If your answer is ‘no’ then you need to start paying attention. If your answer is ‘yes’ then you deserve an ice cream cone. Go get one, then come back and finish reading while you slurp the delicious goodness of  creamy ice.

Screenplays are complicated beasts. Stage plays, in my opinion, are much easier to write, because they’re mainly dialogue. A lot more freedom is necessarily given to the director because one doesn’t know the conditions that the play will be performed. Screenplays, however, are much more specific. It’s like writing a novel, only in a different format: a much more visual format. Everything that you envision for the movie has to translate into something tangible. And it has to fit into a two hour time frame. If you have written, or are writing a screenplay, I salute you. It takes mad talent. Andrew Davies is absolutely excellent. He wrote the script for the 5 hour version of Pride and Prejudice, the Bleak House mini series, the Little Dorrit mini series, The new Northanger Abbey, the new Sense and Sensibility, Bridget Jones’s Diary and the sequel, etc. He’s a beast. And he’s like, 90 or somewhere close to that. The man is freaking amazing. A few of my other favorite screenplay writers include Peter Jackson (he helped write the screenplay for LOTR), Sandy Welch (North and South, the new Emma, Our Mutual Friend, and a version of Jane Eyre, though not my favorite),  Roger Allers (supervised many Disney movie screenplays), Roberto Orci (Transformers, the new Star Trek movies, The Island, Mask of Zorro, etc.), and, of course, Kenneth Branagh (let’s face it, he’s a genius in everything film: acting, directing, writing, etc. he’s made of awesome. possibly more awesome than Andrew Davies). That was a longish rant…

I would like to take a moment to point out that Rick Riordan has finished his Son of Neptune manuscript and the first chapter has been released. You can go here and read the first chapter. Here’s the cover! I’m super hyped about it, I think it’s going to be excellent. The beginning is promising. The first chapter had me wanting more. I can’t wait until it’s released in October!! I finished the first one, The Lost Hero, just today.

Doesn’t it look epic?

My family is packing for their vacation. One that I am not going on anymore. Because I’m supposed to be finding a job and working. Sigh. I should probably go start on that. Thanks for stopping by!

Until next time dear reader, I remain absolutely crazily yours,

Nicole

3 thoughts on “Hi, I’m Nicole and I’m a Facebook addict…

  1. andieroeder says:

    Good news: I DESERVE AN ICE CREAM CONE!
    Bad news: I already had ice cream today.

    Twice a day is probably not okay. Which makes me sad. But I appreciate screenwriting too 🙂

    I love you! I’m proud of you for your FB fast! You go girl! You can do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

