Life, Love and Other Mysteries…


Point of Grace anyone? I used to love that song. I’ll occasionally belt it at the top of my lungs as I take trips down Memory Ave. Sigh. Well, I’m trying to write on this blog every week and trying to do at least one book review a month. January’s were The Privilege of the Sword and The Sleeping Beauty. So, go check those out. Today, I just feel like ranting and emptying my brain a little, so excuse me while I do that.

I hate alarm clocks. Why? Because they are unreliable and fickle. They control our lives, and we don’t even realize it. If you are one of those people whose body automatically wakes up at a certain time, I congratulate you. I wish I was like you, don’t ever change. I feel tied to my alarm clock at all times. This morning my alarm didn’t go off and I missed class. FICKLE ALARM CLOCK! YOU MADE ME MISS CLASS! Ordinarily, I take full responsibility for sleeping in, but this morning it was not my fault! Okay, that’s all I have to say on this subject.

Last week was Founder’s Week. Wow. I was just completely blown away by the speakers this year and really challenged. Haddon Robinson was my favorite. He didn’t preach at us or give us five things that needed to be done to be more godly. He told a story. I envy his skill. He wove words with no notes, just the Bible and the tale he told was Hosea’s. I have an emotional connection to the book of Hosea. It involves crying every time I read a chapter. Robinson told the story of God’s unfailing love that had me SOBBING. I could not stop crying. I felt unworthy and horrid, but so grateful. I always feel like such a wayward child. I feel like Israel. I relate to Gomer so well it scares me. The love that Hosea shows his wife and the children that aren’t his reflects God so well. It made me want to earn that love, though there is nothing I can do to earn it. Outside of God I can do nothing. I can’t love, I can’t breathe, I don’t even have faith. He gives me everything, and I constantly fall away from Him. Ugh, I’m tearing up, so I’m just going to end this by saying that I loved Founder’s Week and I will be processing for a long time. If you want to listen to any of the sermons (I especially recommend Robinson’s and Chip Ingram’s) you can visit foundersweek.org and they have links to download. They also have summaries of all the sermons preached if you want to just review a few. I wrote two of them 🙂

Also, progress on my challenges. I started the Jane Austen mystery series and I am bored to death. I’m struggling through but I desperately hope that it gets better or there is no way I’ll finish. I’m also halfway through The Taming of the Shrew.

Well, I think that’s all I have to say…farewell, dear reader!

Nicole

Leave a Reply

