WORDS! THEY’RE EVERYWHERE!


Over the past two weeks there has been a dramatic influx in the demand for my writing. Not that people are beating down the door or anything, just that I have more opportunities to do so now. Or rather, I’m allowing myself to consider these opportunities instead of ignoring them.

If you, dearest reader, attend Moody Bible Institute and you read the paper, I’d encourage you to read “The Platform” where my editorial is to be placed in the newest issue. I wrote 350 words about Muslims who hide behind their religion for protection. I’m not exactly an expert, but I gave my opinion and I’d be grateful to know yours, should you read it. Just comment here, or catch me in the Plaza or something. If you don’t read the paper, I’d encourage you to continue on that path and NOT read my article. To be frank, I’m terrified of publication, so you not reading it will do much to ease my mind.

If you do not attend Moody, but would like to, or are perhaps looking forward to Founder’s Week, then fear not! During Founder’s Week every year the publicity department has young writers (such as ME) write summaries about each session. So if you won’t be here, but will be listening by radio, OR if you can’t do either but wish you could you can go to Moody’s website, which I will link here and there will be articles up within hours of the sessions telling you what it was about and the writer’s impression. I’m writing about two afternoon sessions. Wish me luck. News writing is not my forte, which is why I decided to do this (I need practice) but I’m nervous about messing this up in front of the world. It is, after all, on the world wide web.

Not only that…(yeah, I know, it’s CRAZY!) but I am now writing reviews for Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing. I got my first book, Mere Churchianity, in the mail yesterday and I’m excited to get started. They prefer reviews to be up within 30 days of receiving the book. So I have one month to read it and crank out a review. The only potential problem with that is all the other books I’m reading. Here’s a list:

  • Jane Austen and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor
  • On Writing
  • The Book Thief
  • The Jane Austen Bible
  • Piercing the Darkness
  • Utopia
  • The Taming of the Shrew
  • Just Ella

That’s not everything…I’m fairly sure I’m missing something. Oh well. I’m at least a third of the way through each of those and not anywhere close to finishing any of them. Dare I risk adding another book to the ever-growing mass of partially finished books? I think I do. I’m pretty excited about this one! πŸ˜€

So you can see that my life is simply overflowing with an abundance of words. Not that it wasn’t prior to this, but it just seems like more now. For those of you that have been waiting, on the edge of your computer chair, for news about the editing of my Nanowrimo 2010 novel (referred to as Raina for the present), I’m happy to tell you that editing has already started and will continue well into Founder’s Week. I’ll be posting things, desperately hoping that you will comment and tell me what you think. But, alas, you rarely do. I have sent it out to four people who have promised to read it and tell me what they think. I’m still waiting for them to get back to me. However, edited portions will be posted soon. That was the point of this tangent.

I’m pretty sure that’s all I have to say. Ta-ta for now! (Or for you Tigger fans out there: TTFN!)

Nicole

Leave a Reply

