“Depart from me, I never knew you.”


These words were ringing in my ears at dinner. Two of my friends and I went to Qdoba for dinner and on the way in a lady asked us if she could have something to eat. I’m ashamed to say, I walked straight past. Once we were inside I felt the Holy Spirit whisper, “Why’d you do that? Go back.” I ordered my food with an increasing sense of shame. When I put my food down I looked out the window as the woman tried to get others to listen to her plea, in vain. My heart, my conscience, and my God screamed at me to go and offer her a meal. I ignored it, instead going and getting something to drink. Not three minutes after I sat down another Moody student passed. He stopped and talked to the woman, clearly asking her if she’d like to get something to eat. She gratefully accepted and followed him in. Another man had bought her a bag of chips and was going to take it out to her, but instead handed it to her in line. The other Moody didn’t even buy anything for himself. He just got her what she wanted and sat out talking to her for a long time.

I looked across at my friend and mumbled that I felt so ashamed. He did too, I could tell. I don’t think I’ll easily forget the look on the good Samaritan’s face when he came in. He had never met me, but he recognized me and his look spoke volumes. It was a confused and wary look. One that instantly made me feel more shame than I had before. He didn’t mean to be condemning, and indeed he wasn’t. He was disappointed, I think. But as I sat there all I could think of was that passage in Matthew 25 where Christ talks about the sheep and the goats.

To the sheep He acknowledges all they did for Him. They clothed and fed and housed those in need. “Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.” And then He turns to the goats, and He says, “Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.”

I am a goat right now. I’m a disgusting, horrid goat. They are gross and they don’t even make any cool animal sound. And I have to say I’m feeling pretty ashamed. But I know that this was a lesson. How many times have I walked past those in need and ignored that whisper from God? I don’t want to ignore Him anymore. I will strive to be Christ to those in need, to be His hands and feet. I exhort you, dear reader, to do so as well. I don’t know who will read this. Lord knows I don’t have many readers, but next time you see someone in the streets begging for food or someone who is need be Jesus to them. Don’t disappoint Him as I did.

My brother floor RA Sawyer Nyquist wrote a post about the verses right before this passage today as well. If you want to be further convicted ( 🙂 ) go here.

2 thoughts on ““Depart from me, I never knew you.”

  1. Rob Hunt says:

    Nicole, don’t want to say an trite thing about it being okay to walk by when the Holy Spirit is telling you to reach out. but remember how much He loves you, and get back up and try again. and again. and again. never give up. thanks for sharing. and praise God that He sent someone else to this dear one in need. their need did not go unmet for the sake of this lesson. i’m encouraged and challenged to hear of God moving in your heart, a heart that is soft enough to learn and share these lessons. blessings.

    Like

  2. Heather Ruch says:

    Nicole–

    Thank you for sharing this post! I read your blog (not religiously, but I check in every so often), and I have realized that your BEST writing is when you share your heart this way. You wrote another column last summer about discovering yourself, your lack of job, and your relationships with your family that also touched me very much.

    You have a gift, when you allow God to use it through you. This column was a beautifully wrapped, beribboned GIFT from God! Thank you for sharing it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

